Regular Session, 2012

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 160

BY REPRESENTATIVES BADON AND MORENO

A RESOLUTION

To commend Stuart Smith upon his receipt of the Elizebeth T. Werlein Award from the Vieux Carre Commission.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend Stuart Smith upon the memorable and historic occasion of his receipt of the Elizebeth T. Werlein Award from the Vieux Carre Commission; and

WHEREAS, the highest honor bestowed by the commission, the Elizebeth T. Werlein Award was established in 1986 as part of the commission's fiftieth anniversary celebration and honors individuals and groups who have made distinguished contributions to the preservation of the Vieux Carre; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Smith is a longtime resident of the French Quarter and an activist attorney who has made extraordinary contributions to preservation efforts through his pro bono legal work, his work on preservation law, and his tireless dedication to serving his community; and

WHEREAS, Stuart Smith is the kind of citizen who represents what is good about Louisiana, a man of wisdom who uses his talents, generosity, and passion for his hometown to change the Crescent City for the better; and

WHEREAS, one of Louisiana's finest sons, Mr. Smith is a quintessential New Orleanian who loves the city and all of her traditions and a man whose accomplishments have left an indelible mark upon his city and state; and

WHEREAS, Stuart Smith merits a special measure of commendation for the tremendous pride and honor that he brings to the city of New Orleans and the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Stuart Smith upon his receipt of the Elizebeth T. Werlein Award from the Vieux Carre Commission, does hereby express enduring appreciation for his outstanding achievements and singular contributions to the preservation of historic New Orleans, and does hereby extend best wishes for continued success and happiness in his future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Stuart Smith.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES