2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 159

BY REPRESENTATIVE HORTON

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Bossier Parish Community College debate team for its national championship.

WHEREAS, the Bossier Parish Community College (BPCC) debate team completed its season earning one hundred four awards and the title of International Public Debate Association Season-Long Community College National Champions; at the national championship tournament, the team earned eight more awards; and

WHEREAS, this marks the fourth national championship for the community college's debate team, having previously won the title in 2011, 2012, and 2018; and

WHEREAS, Bobby Alexander, Magan Billups, Grant Coleman, Skylar Davis, Alex Gibson, Sydney Green, Keithen Lewis, Hannah Morris, Dena O'Banion, Kobie Temple, Genna Weilmuenster, and Karius White of the BPCC debate team performed admirably throughout the 2018-2019 season; and

WHEREAS, at the national championship tournament, Preston Langley earned first place, Dena O'Banion earned second place, and Hannah Morris tied for third place; and

WHEREAS, the team's success would not have been possible without the dedication and leadership of coaches Bob Alexander and Preston Langley; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting to commend the BPCC debate team for its outstanding accomplishments over the course of the 2018-2019 season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Bossier Parish Community College debate team for its national championship, does hereby commend every team member for rising to the challenge of the high standards expected of them at national competition, and does hereby wish every student and coach involved with the debate team every measure of success and happiness in the years to come.

HR NO. 159 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Bob Alexander.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES