2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 147

BY REPRESENTATIVE MARCELLE

A RESOLUTION

To commend the University Laboratory School football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division II state championship.

WHEREAS, in 2018, for the second consecutive season, the members of the University Laboratory School football team performed at the highest level of excellence, amassing yet another undefeated record of thirteen wins and zero losses; and

WHEREAS, on December 7, 2018, the University Laboratory School Cubs made its case as the best overall team in the state of Louisiana in Division II with a shootout 55-46 win over St. Thomas More in the Louisiana High School Athletic Association state championship game at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, ahead by only two points at the beginning of the fourth quarter, University High's quarterback, John Gordon McKernan, drove his team the length of the field and tossed a two-yard shovel pass to Mike Hollins, but the two-score lead of 48-39 didn't last long as St. Thomas More scored a touchdown to narrow U-High's lead to two points at 48-46; with three minutes remaining in the game, John crossed the goal line on a 1-yard quarterback sneak and cemented the win with the game's final score of 55-46; and

WHEREAS, the state championship win for the University Laboratory Cubs football team was its third state championship in five years and fifth state championship overall in football; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of this team could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication, support, guidance, and skill of the Cubs head coach, Chad Mahaffey; his assistant coaches, Will Anders, Stephen Castello, Nick Glueck, Chandler Johnson, Trent Kavanaugh, Miles Landry, Connor Loper, Andy Martin, David Neubauer,

HR NO. 147 ENROLLED

and Nick West; managers, Brian Coppola, Ben Maas, and Max Mooney; student trainers, Sydney Broome, Chandler Collins, Haley Ginn, Mya Gravois, Kate Douglas Greene, Amanda Johnson, Hannah Loy, Maggie Miller, Briana Mullenix, Madi Smith, Amelia Terry, and Karlie Williams; the administrative staff of University Laboratory School, Director Dr. Wade Smith, Principal Frank Rusciano, Athletic Director Jill White, Melissa Sorrells and Tiffani Frizzell, trainers, Dr. Brent Bankston and Dr. Mark Field, team physicians, and support staff Andrew Merey; and

WHEREAS, each student athlete who represented U-High Laboratory School on the football field in the 2018 season is worthy of mention: seniors Donald Berniard, Jacob Burke, Jordan Clark, Bryton Constantin, Mark Coppola, Gideon Cuellar, Garrett Fleming, William Franques, William Gussman, Christian Harris, Doryan Harris, Mike Hollins, Leland Jones, Griffin Lissard, Hayden Lowery, John Gordon McKernan, Paul Phillips, Aleksander Popov, Dylan Rathcke, Logan Simoneaux, Thomas Teepell, Makiya Tongue, and Fielding Woolf; juniors Chas Bertrand, Cameron Dorsey, Rashad Green, Derrek Lathon, Tanner Lawson, Trey Luster, Solomon Miles, August Ohmstede, Tony Olinde, Jaquelin Roy, Will Safford, and Josh Slaughter; sophomores Brent Bailey, Jacob Braun, Cullen Clebert, Micah Davey, Trevor Evans, Coleman Fox, Jardin Gilbert, Marcus Heinse, Tedrick Knightshead, Tyler Macloud, Nick Maranto, Keilen Ross, Andre Van Merrienboer, Walton Roberts, and Grayson Ussery; and freshmen Austin Ausberry, William Bankston, Jason Barnes, Justin Collins, Derrick Graham, Christian Granger, Cass Greene, Joe Haindel, Jabari Johnson, Gavin Jones, Ben Madison, Carsen Manuel, Banks Moore, Roman Pitre, Dillon Smith, Nick Williams, and Terence Williams; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the team has earned; to commend the team for the ability it has displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team members and coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state boys' football honor possible for University Laboratory School.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the University Laboratory School football team upon winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division II state championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's

HR NO. 147 ENROLLED

triumph in the sport of football; and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and all others involved in the football program as they celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued athletic success and life accomplishments in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Head Coach Chad Mahaffey, Assistant Head Coach and Defensive Coordinator Andy Martin, Offensive Line Coach David Neubauer, Linebackers Coach Miles Landry, and assistant coaches Will Anders, Stephen Castello, Nick Glueck, Chandler Johnson, Trent Kavanaugh, Connor Loper, and Nick West.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES