## 2017 Regular Session

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 145

### BY REPRESENTATIVE SCHEXNAYDER

#### A RESOLUTION

To commend the Riverside Academy Rebels baseball team upon winning the 2017 Division III Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Baseball Championship.

WHEREAS, in what became Riverside Academy's second state athletic championship during the 2016-2017 academic year after the football team won the Division III football title in December, the Riverside Academy Rebels baseball team capped a stellar season by winning the 2017 Division III Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Baseball Championship; and

WHEREAS, although it is the third state championship achieved by Riverside Academy, it has been eleven long years since they were last able to claim the state Division III baseball title and hoist the championship trophy; and

WHEREAS, for the second year in a row, the Riverside Academy Rebels, after a 30 - 0 season, played their crucial game in the AllState Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Baseball Tournament against the Ouachita Christian Eagles with a season record of 29-12; however, unlike last year when the two teams met in the quarterfinals, this year the contest was for the state championship; and

WHEREAS, led by Senior Mason Vicknair's performance as he pitched a shutout and hit a triple in the first inning, the Rebels earned their first run in the third inning off a double from leadoff batter Zack Geiger who later scored on a passed ball and their second run in the fourth inning off a sacrifice fly to right field, again by Geiger; and

WHEREAS, in addition to senior Mason Vicknair and junior Zack Geiger the members of the winning team include seniors Payton Bailey, Zach Breaud, Trey Catoire, Colton Duhon, Tanner Louque, Heath Mohon, Conner Poche', and Shaine Tregre; juniors

## HR NO. 145

Noah Bailey, Dane Edler, Jared Hymel, Hunter Landry, and Jordon Loving; sophomore Patrick Boudreaux; freshmen Gavin Vicknair and Devon Watson; and eighth graders Ty Cazeaux, Anthony Fernandez, Braedon Montz, and Colby Wilson; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest levels of excellence throughout the season, and each Rebel deserves recognition for his vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Frank Cazeaux and Assistant Coaches Johnny Collins, Johnny Owen, and Paul Wineski have instilled an ethic of winning in these young athletes, and have demonstrated leadership and motivational skills that have led to success both on and off the diamond for the Riverside Academy Rebels; and

WHEREAS, Managers Dustin Epperly and Wilbert Robertson, Statistician Shaun Pascaul, Athletic Trainer Ryan Trahan, and Principal Michael Coburn contributed to the success of the team by capably and admirably performing their jobs throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Rebels have earned; to commend the team for the ability they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team members, coaching staff, and support staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state Division III baseball honor possible for Riverside Academy.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Riverside Academy Rebels baseball team upon winning the 2017 Division III Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Baseball Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Frank Cazeaux at Riverside Academy.

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES