Regular Session, 2012

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 130

BY REPRESENTATIVES BARROW, ABRAMSON, ADAMS, ANDERS, ARMES, ARNOLD, BADON, BARRAS, BERTHELOT, BILLIOT, STUART BISHOP, WESLEY BISHOP, BROADWATER, BROSSETT, BROWN, BURFORD, HENRY BURNS, TIM BURNS, BURRELL, CARMODY, CARTER, CHAMPAGNE, CHANEY, CONNICK, COX, CROMER, DANAHAY, DIXON, DOVE, EDWARDS, FANNIN, FOIL, FRANKLIN, GAINES, GAROFALO, GEYMANN, GISCLAIR, GREENE, GUILLORY, GUINN, HARRIS, HARRISON, HAVARD, HAZEL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HILL, HODGES, HOFFMANN, HOLLIS, HONORE, HOWARD, HUNTER, HUVAL, GIROD JACKSON, KATRINA JACKSON, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JOHNSON, JONES, KLECKLEY, LAMBERT, NANCY LANDRY, TERRY LANDRY, LEBAS, LEGER, LEOPOLD, LIGI, LOPINTO, LORUSSO, MACK, MILLER, MONTOUCET, MORENO, JAY MORRIS, JIM MORRIS, NORTON, ORTEGO, PEARSON, PIERRE, PONTI, POPE, PRICE, PUGH, PYLANT, REYNOLDS, RICHARD, RICHARDSON, RITCHIE, ROBIDEAUX, SCHEXNAYDER, SCHRODER, SEABAUGH, SHADOIN, SIMON, SMITH, ST. GERMAIN, TALBOT, THIBAUT, THIERRY, THOMPSON, WHITNEY, ALFRED WILLIAMS, PATRICK WILLIAMS, AND WILLMOTT

A RESOLUTION

To recognize June 14, 2012, as National Flag Day and to commend Louisiana citizens for

their military service.

WHEREAS, each year, National Flag Day is celebrated in the United States on the

fourteenth of June; and

WHEREAS, the American flag has been the national symbol for two hundred thirty-

five years, and it remains a beacon of freedom wherever it is flown; and

WHEREAS, Americans fly the flag to show their pride and appreciation for the freedoms they enjoy and pledge their allegiance to the flag, and American troops carry it before them as they defend the liberties for which it stands; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of Louisiana look forward to Flag Day every year as a day on which to remember in a special way those in uniform whose courage and sacrifice inspire them at home; and

WHEREAS, Representatives James K. Armes III, Wesley T. Bishop, Richard T. Burford, Henry L. Burns, Stephen F. Carter, Kenny R. Cox, Herbert B. Dixon, John Bel Edwards, James R. "Jim" Fannin, Franklin J. Foil, Randal L. Gaines, Jerry Gisclair, Lowell

HR NO. 130

C. Hazel, Dalton W. Honoré, Frank A. Howard, Girod Jackson III, Terry C. Landry, Sr., Nicholas J. Lorusso, Jack Montoucet, Clifton R. Richardson, and John M. Schroder, Sr., along with House staffers Leo Bouquet, Wayne Foreman, Noel Hunt, Tyler McCloud, and Paul Prejean have either served in the past or are serving presently in the military; and

WHEREAS, on Saturday, June 16, 2012, Representative Regina Ashford Barrow is hosting her seventh Annual "Celebrating the Red, White, and Blue" National Flag Day celebration with music, food, and fun; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize National Flag Day and to take this opportunity to express enduring appreciation to all of Louisiana's citizens who have served or are serving in the military for the tremendous pride and honor they bring to the state of Louisiana and the United States of America.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize June 14, 2012, as National Flag Day and does hereby commend Louisiana citizens for their military service.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES