Regular Session, 2010

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 122

BY REPRESENTATIVE HARRISON

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Assumption High School volleyball team upon winning the 2009 Division II state championship.

WHEREAS, in November of 2009, the Assumption High School girls volleyball team completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2009 District II state champions; and

WHEREAS, this thrilling state championship win was the culmination of another unforgettable season for the Mustangs; and

WHEREAS, the Assumption High School volleyball team has won a total of eight state championships, has been the state runner-up five times, and has won twenty-two consecutive district championships; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the season and playoffs, and each of these great Mustangs deserves recognition for her vital contributions to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, the 2009 Assumption High School volleyball team consists of Sadie Arabie, Edrielle Barrow, Chelsie Bergeron, Alli Berthelot, Alli Beth Blanchard, Emily Booty, Paula Breaux, Taylor Dupaty, Laquita Francis, Emily Gros, Bianqua Hills, Dashay Johnson, Jasmine Knight, Bre Landry, Dashia Myles, Brooke Naquin, Hannah Rivere, Kayla Sherman, Jessica Simoneaux, KimberLee Simoneaux, Kainan Rodrigue, Hailey Veillion, and Jaduh Williams; and

WHEREAS, the amazing feats of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of coaches Sandy Fussell, Tara Campo, Kia Converse, Boyd Fussell, and all of the other individuals who have contributed to the success of the school's volleyball program; and

HR NO. 122 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding season upholds the glorious tradition of the Mustangs, and all Assumption High School alumni and fans recognize the immense pride and distinguished honor that the team brings to its school, community, and state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Assumption High School volleyball team upon winning the 2009 District II state championship and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine volleyball program as they celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Sandy Fussell.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES