2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 122

BY REPRESENTATIVE SMITH

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Madison Preparatory Academy boys' basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 2A state championship.

WHEREAS, the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers basketball team completed a remarkable season by earning the title of 2017 Class 2A state champions after securing a sixty-five to sixty-one win over the Rayville High School Hornets; and

WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marked the closest contest of the post-season for the top-seeded Chargers, who won their previous four post-season games by an average of seventy-three points, with the first round victory having a one hundred two point margin of victory; and

WHEREAS, this championship marked the third consecutive state championship for the school and the fourth overall in the school's eight year history; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the 2016-2017 regular season and playoffs, amassing a record of thirty-four wins and three losses; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication, support, and guidance of head coach Jeff Jones and his coaching staff, as well as, the passion of the many supporters of the Chargers, who contributed to the success of the school's basketball program; and

WHEREAS, the Chargers' extraordinary season led to a number of accolades for the players including having Josh Anderson receiving a first-team selection to the 2016-2017 All-USA Louisiana boys' basketball team from USA Today; Josh LeBlanc receiving a first-team Class 2A All-State selection, Josh Anderson receiving a second team Class 2A All-State selection from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association; and

HR NO. 122 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the accolades did not stop there as Josh Anderson, Kobe Julien, Josh

LeBlanc, Jamel Robinson, and Jharon Whitfield were named to the 2017 All-District 7-2A

boys' basketball team, with Josh LeBlanc and Kobe Julien being selected Co-Most Valuable

Players, Tyrese Walker being selected Co-Defensive Most Valuable Player, and Coach Jeff

Jones being selected coach of the year; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the Madison Preparatory Academy boys'

basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 2A state championship; and

WHEREAS, all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that

the team brings to Madison Preparatory Academy, East Baton Rouge Parish, and the state

of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Madison Preparatory

Academy boys' basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 2A state championship; does

hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of basketball;

and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this

fine basketball program as they celebrate their championship season and prepare for

continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to Madison Preparatory Academy and head coach Jeff Jones.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2