2016 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 105

BY REPRESENTATIVES HENRY AND LEGER

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Jesuit High School lacrosse team upon winning the 2016 Louisiana High School Lacrosse League championship.

WHEREAS, on Sunday, April 24, 2016, Jesuit High School solidified its position as the state's premier lacrosse program in a victory over its cross-town rival, Brother Martin, by a score of 15-6 in the 2016 Louisiana High School Lacrosse League (LHSLL) championship; and

WHEREAS, the 2016 crown is the fifth consecutive LHSLL title for Jesuit High School; and

WHEREAS, the Jesuit team was undefeated in district play and lost only one in-state game during the year; these outstanding athletes were led by head coach Steve Krobert, a 2005 graduate of Jesuit High School, and assistant coaches Nick Helinski, Saban Sellers, and Andrew Scott, a 2013 graduate who helped the Jesuit Blue Jays win their first two titles; and

WHEREAS, seniors Taylor Anderson, Thomas Cassagne, Gray Cresse, Josh Cvitanovich, tournament offensive Most Valuable Player Max Murret, Kent Flower, Paul Gelpi, tournament defensive Most Valuable Player Rob Hinyub, Spencer Lemoine, Sammy Martin, Connor Martinez, Jeremy Scheffler, Dominic Sunseri, Alex Vargas, Kyle Westholz, and David Zazulak; juniors Mitchell Barras, Jack Cronvich, William Crumley, Bennett Faust, Jeremy Hamilton, Dieter Hugel, Daniel Leithman, Briggs Lucia, Noah Martin, Parker Simoneaux, Michael Smart, and Grant Stevens; and sophomores Andrew Burnside, Peyton Queyrouze, Aidan Roberts, and William Simon combined to bring about the winning attitude necessary for an unforgettable championship run; parent Bryant Faust captured the sensational season in pictures and parent Charles Hamilton kept stats for the team; and

HR NO. 105 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Jesuit Blue Jays have earned; to commend the team for the ability they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team members and coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state lacrosse honor for Jesuit High School.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes and coaching staff of the Jesuit High School lacrosse team for winning the 2016 Louisiana High School Lacrosse League championship, capping off a truly spectacular season; and does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride and honor they have brought to their school and community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to head coach Steve Krobert.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES