2024 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 98

BY REPRESENTATIVE LARVADAIN

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Charles Smith on his 2024 induction into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, Charles Smith joined the Peabody Magnet High School Warhorses boys' basketball program in 1979, and he has served as the head coach since 1985; and

WHEREAS, Coach Smith helmed Peabody on its way to nine Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) state championships, and he won another as an assistant coach under former head coach, Earnest Bowman; and

WHEREAS, Coach Smith is Louisiana's all-time coaching wins leader with 1,208 victories; he also led the Warhorses to two undefeated seasons; and

WHEREAS, Coach Smith has been recognized for his coaching achievements on numerous occasions; he has been named the LHSAA Class 4A Coach of the Year, and he has been inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, the Louisiana High School Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame, and the National High School Athletics Coaches Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Coach Smith has been announced as a member of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2024; on August 17, 2024, he will be inducted along with Seimone Augustus, Vince Carter, Chauncey Billups, Walter Davis, Bo Ryan, Jerry West, Herb Simon, Doug Collins, Harley Redin, Dick Barnett, Michele Timms, and Michael Cooper; and

WHEREAS, Peabody Magnet High School boys' basketball head coach, Charles Smith, is most deserving of the highest recognition for his truly legendary coaching career.

HCR NO. 98 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Charles Smith on his 2024 induction into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that he continue to prosper in all of his endeavors both on and off of the court.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE