HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 60

BY REPRESENTATIVE HOLLIS

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To recognize Tuesday, May 1, 2012, as St. Tammany Day.

WHEREAS, in 1683, the noble and respected Amerindian chief Tamanend of the Lenni-Lenape Nation entered into an unwritten and unbreakable treaty with the Quaker William Penn, founder of the English colony of Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, Tamanend was so highly esteemed and respected by the American colonists for his truthfulness, principles, and word of honor that he was known as "Saint" Tammany and considered the patron saint of the American Revolution; and

WHEREAS, in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, May first was dedicated as a national day of recognition in tribute to Tamanend; and

WHEREAS, when Louisiana joined the United States of America on April 30, 1812, President Thomas Jefferson appointed William C.C. Claiborne as governor of the new state; and

WHEREAS, Governor Claiborne named the area north of Lake Pontchartrain, which had not been included in the Louisiana Purchase of 1803, "St. Tammany", after the noble Indian chief Tamanend, to assure that the Choctaw inhabitants of the area would remain friendly to the American nation; and

WHEREAS, in 2003, with the support of then-Senator John Breaux, Senator Mary Landrieu, and then-Representative David Vitter, the United States Senate passed a Senate Concurrent Resolution supporting "the goals and ideals of St. Tammany Day as a national day of recognition for Tamanend and the values he represented".

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize Tuesday, May 1, 2012, as St. Tammany Day and does hereby encourage the citizens of Louisiana, as they celebrate the bicentennial of Louisiana's statehood, to commemorate this special day and the singular place that St. Tammany Parish holds in the annals of the history of the state.

HCR NO. 60 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of St. Tammany Parish.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE