2017 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 53

BY REPRESENTATIVES HAZEL, GAROFALO, AND MARINO AND SENATOR DONAHUE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Holy Cross Tigers upon winning the 2017 All-State Sugar/LHSAA Division I state wrestling championship.

WHEREAS, on February 11, 2017, the Holy Cross Tigers once again took home the All-State Sugar/LHSAA Division I state wrestling trophy, the fourth state championship for Coach Eric DesOrmeaux and the twenty-eighth team title for the Holy Cross Tigers; and

WHEREAS, Holy Cross has a long-time tradition of developing boys into men, particularly through their storied wrestling program that boasts two hundred forty individual state wrestling champions, the most in the nation, and that had to be re-built after the devastation caused by Hurricane Katrina after which the program grew from just eight wrestlers in 2006 to more than ninety-nine in 2017; and

WHEREAS, there were two students on the team who were particular standouts: in the one hundred forty-five pound weight class was Senior Captain Jake Rando who was a state champion in his weight class in 2015, 2016, and 2017 also earned the title of 2017 Most Outstanding Wrestler in the state for Division I, and in the one hundred seventy pound weight class was Senior Captain Joey Foret who was a state champion in 2016 and 2017 in his weight class; and

WHEREAS, winning a state championship in a team sport is not an accomplishment by any one or two members of the team but can only be won through the hard work, dedication, and accomplishments of the entire team; and

WHEREAS, the 2017 team, captained by Jake Rando, Joey Foret, and Senior Captain Cole Clement, who was a 2017 State Finalist and 2016 State Champion in the one hundred thirty-two pound weight class, Senior Captain Jeffrey Argave who placed third in the one hundred fifty-two pound weight class, Senior Captain Michael Benton who placed third in

HCR NO. 53

the one hundred eighty-two pound weight class, and Senior Captain Randy Amos who was a State Finalist in the two hundred eighty-five pound weight class; and

WHEREAS, the remainder of the team contributed to the team win as follows: Juniors Jacob Spahn placed fifth in the one hundred twenty pound weight class and Spencer Rayes placed fourth in the one hundred ninety-five pound weight class, Sophomores Michael Lundin placed third in the one hundred thirteen pound weight class, Mason Macaluso placed fifth in the one hundred twenty-six pound weight class, Brady Butler placed third in the one hundred thirty-eight pound weight class, Caden Mumme placed fourth in the one hundred sixty pound weight class, and Logan Heffner competed in the two hundred twenty pound weight class, and Freshman Caruso Signorelli was a State Finalist in the one hundred six pound weight class; and

WHEREAS, the coaches are as essential to the team's success as the athletes who compete and the coaches for the 2017 Holy Cross wrestling team were Head Coach Eric DesOrmeaux and assistant coaches Dylan Azinger, Richie Dixon, Stephen Kleamenakis, Jorge Lauriano, Nick Michael, Steve Rando, and Landon Williams.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Holy Cross Tigers upon winning the 2017 All-State Sugar/LHSAA Division I state wrestling championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Holy Cross Head Wrestling Coach, Coach Eric DesOrmeaux.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE