2018 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 37

BY REPRESENTATIVE POPE AND SENATOR ERDEY

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Walker High School boys' basketball team upon winning the 2018 Allstate

Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state
championship.

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2018, in the LHSAA Allstate Sugar Bowl Marsh Madness Tournament in Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, the Walker High School Wildcats battled No. 3 seed Landry-Walker and ultimately denied their opponent a fourth state title in five years while earning a first-ever state championship for Walker High School; in an overtime thriller, Walker came from a 52-44 deficit with two minutes remaining in regulation on the strength of its defense and outscored Landry-Walker 9-1 to send the game into the extra period, during which they achieved the 62-57 overtime victory; and

WHEREAS, freshman Brian Thomas, who was named the game's Most Outstanding Player, poured in 20 points, grabbed 8 rebounds, and made 8 of 11 free throws; he played well throughout the season and helped his team finish the season with an overall wins-losses record of 33-4 and 5-1 in the district; and

WHEREAS, special honors on the season were awarded to Jalen Cook, Jalen Perkins, and Dalton Moore, who were named to the 4-5A All District team; Mr. Perkins also was named District Defensive Most Valuable Player, named to the State All Tournament Team, and elected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association to the Louisiana 5A All State Team; in addition, Mr. Cook, Mr. Perkins, and Mr. Moore were named along with teammate Brian Thomas to the All Livingston Parish First Team; Mr. Thomas also was named to the State

HCR NO. 37 ENROLLED

All Tournament Team; Darius Hampton, who was named Parish Defensive Most Valuable Player, was named to the All Livingston Parish Second Team; and

WHEREAS, the Walker Wildcats had not been to a basketball tournament since 1962 and became the first Livingston Parish boys' team to advance to a title game since rival Springfield High School won in 1997; for the first time in the school's history, the Walker Wildcats returned home victorious with the LHSAA basketball championship trophy in tow; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach Anthony Schiro and his assistant coaches, Eric Cook, Donnie Goodson, and Connor Locke, and with the support of Ke'Andre Ventress, team manager, each member of the Walker boys' basketball team exerted the energy and discipline necessary to become champions and is worthy of mention: seniors Qaeshon Clark, Josh Cook, Le Davis, Darius Hampton, Jordan Hoggatt, Dalton Moore, and Jalen Perkins; juniors Anthony Bell, Trenton Montgomery, Grahm Smith, and Calvin Watson; sophomores Keondre Brown and Jalen Cook; and freshman Brian Thomas; and

WHEREAS, Coach Schiro has instilled an ethic of winning in these fine young men and has demonstrated leadership and motivational skills that have led to success both on and off the court for the Walker Wildcats; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Walker High School Wildcats have earned; to commend the team for the ability they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to team members and the coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state boys' basketball honor possible for Walker High School.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes, coaches, and management staff of the Walker High School boys' basketball team for winning the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state championship and completing a truly spectacular season; and does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride and honor they have brought to their school and community.

HCR NO. 37 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Anthony Schiro.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE