HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 27

BY REPRESENTATIVE BARROW

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To recognize Thursday, April 28, 2011, as Workers Memorial Day in recognition of workers killed, injured, and disabled on the job.

WHEREAS, Louisiana recognizes her citizens as her most valuable resource, and Louisiana workers have been recognized as some of the most productive workers in America; and

WHEREAS, the first Workers Memorial Day was observed in 1989, and the date was chosen because it marks the anniversary of the establishment of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration and the date of a similar remembrance in Canada; and

WHEREAS, decades of struggle by workers have resulted in significant improvements in working conditions, and all workers deserve the protection of the safest work environment possible; and

WHEREAS, every year, tens of thousands of American workers die as the result of workplace injuries and occupational diseases, and millions of workers are injured, permanently disabled, or made ill on the job; and

WHEREAS, concerned Americans are determined to decrease such tragedies in part by observing Workers Memorial Day on Thursday, April 28, 2011, as a day to remember these victims of workplace injuries and occupational diseases, to renew efforts to seek stronger safety and health protections, better standards and enforcement, and fair and just compensation, and to rededicate themselves to improving safety and health in every American workplace; and

WHEREAS, the governor has proclaimed Thursday, April 28, 2011, as Workers Memorial Day in Louisiana.

HCR NO. 27 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize Thursday, April 28, 2011, as Workers Memorial Day in recognition of workers killed, injured, and disabled on the job.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of the Louisiana American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO).

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE