2020 First Extraordinary Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 23

BY REPRESENTATIVES BAGLEY, COX, CREWS, GLOVER, HORTON, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCMAHEN, CHARLES OWEN, PHELPS, PRESSLY, SCHAMERHORN, AND SEABAUGH AND SENATORS BERNARD, MILLIGAN, ROBERT MILLS, TARVER, AND PEACOCK

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport for its

extraordinary response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

WHEREAS, the role of an academic medical center is to provide medical education, research, and clinical care that is delivered through cutting-edge technologies, novel resources, and therapies that otherwise might not be available in the geographical area; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport through its leaders, Chancellor G.E. Ghali, MD, and Vice Chancellor for Research Chris Kevil, PhD, as well as faculty members Dr. Steven Alexander, Dr. Connie Alford, Dr. Michelle Arnold, Dr. Steve Bailey, Dr. Ricky Bass, Dr. Jason Bodily, Dr. Steven Conrad, Dr. Angela Cornelius, Dr. Terry Davis, Dr. Ellen Friday, Dr. Robert Holladay, Dr. Stan Ivanov, Dr. Jeremy Kamil, Dr. Wayne Orr, Dr. Martin Sapp, Dr. Keith Scott, Dr. Rona Scott, Dr. Jennifer Singh, Dr. John Vanchiere, Dr. Robert Walter, Dr. Paul Weinberger, Dr. Matthew Woolard, and Dr. Andrew Yurochko have contributed exceedingly to the state of Louisiana's response to the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport was the first academic medical center in Louisiana to open an approved COVID-19 testing lab with highly reliable and robust testing capability that is certified by the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments Program and approved by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; and

WHEREAS, this emerging viral threat (EVT) laboratory is unique in that it is able to screen samples for virus mutations; and

WHEREAS, the EVT laboratory was quickly expanded to include serology testing which is essential in determining asymptomatic individuals who had COVID-19, which creates a reliable pathway for resuming academic and professional endeavors; and

WHEREAS, the serology testing allows for matching convalescent plasma with critically ill COVID-19 patients in multiple hospitals in north Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, a Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport strike team composed of seven residents and one faculty leader provided two weeks of requested health care in New Orleans during the time the city was at the height of its COVID-19 response creating tremendous strain on healthcare professionals; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport medical and allied health students graduated early which allowed them to join the workforce at a time when there was an increased need for medical professionals to address the pandemic response efforts; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport was the first location in Louisiana to receive approval to administer convalescent plasma therapy to critically ill patients as part of a clinical trial; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport was the first location in Louisiana and second in the United States to administer inhaled nitric oxide therapy to critically ill COVID-19 patients as part of an international clinical trial; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport was the first location in Louisiana and the second in the United States to administer inhaled nitric oxide therapy to mildly to moderately ill COVID-19 patients as part of an international clinical trial, which only has six approved locations in the United States as of the date of filing of this Resolution; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport expanded its community COVID-19 testing to nursing homes and first responders; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport leads the state of Louisiana in the number of contributions to the GISAID Initiative, a global science initiative and primary source for genomic data of influenza viruses and the novel coronavirus, and makes up the molecular epidemiology data set for Louisiana and tracks the spread of COVID-19; and WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences at Shreveport produced 3D-printed swabs to eliminate challenges of national shortages of this key element in COVID-19 testing kits; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport has continued to add new clinical trials to strengthen available treatments to COVID-19 patients while securing meaningful data about the novel coronavirus.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport leadership, faculty, and recent graduates for their significant contributions in addressing COVID-19 through provision of early, high-quality testing; securing required approvals to participate in promising clinical trials that have saved lives and shortened the time individuals suffered with COVID-19; enhancing availability of test kits throughout the state due to production of 3D-printed swabs; providing physician support to their sister institution, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at New Orleans, during a time of great duress; and contributing exponentially to the international genome sequencing database while securing significant data which will contribute to understanding not only the current novel coronavirus, but any future mutations positioning Louisiana to favorably respond to future viral pandemics.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dr. G.E. Ghali, Chancellor of the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport, and Dr. Chris Kevil, Vice Chancellor for Research at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE