Regular Session, 2010

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 21

BY REPRESENTATIVE HOFFMANN AND SENATOR WALSWORTH

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Katelyn von Diezelski of West Monroe, the 2010 Louisiana Junior Miss.

WHEREAS, Katelyn is a student at West Monroe High School, and she is enrolled in the Ouachita Parish Gifted and Talented program; and

WHEREAS, at West Monroe High School, Katelyn serves with unwavering dedication as a student ambassador, chaplain of the National Honor Society, a line officer of the Rebel Raiders dance team, alto one section leader of the school choir, a crew leader of the Rebel Revue Link Crew, and a member of her school's Fellowship of Christian Athletes, interact club, biology club, Spanish club, and chess club; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn has received numerous awards and honors throughout her life, including the Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership Award for West Monroe High School, Academic All-State honors from the Louisiana Music Educators' Association, first chair alto one at the Louisiana Music Educators' Association District All-State competition, and Universal Dance Association's All-American Dancer distinction; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn volunteers more than two hundred hours each year to various organizations throughout her community; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn volunteers four hours per week at Azalea Estates, an assistedliving facility where she leads a thirty-minute exercise class and calls bingo games, and she is the leader of preschool arts and crafts at Vacation Bible School; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn often volunteers as a motivational speaker for middle and elementary school students, and she is speaking at the Boys and Girls Club in April of 2010 to encourage young people to be themselves; and

HCR NO. 21 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, in the past, Katelyn has led the Alzheimer's Memory Walk; has participated in the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life and the Great American Cleanup; has volunteered with the Salvation Army and at Senior Olympics and Special Olympics events; has served as a volunteer nursery worker at her church; and has entertained patrons at the West Ouachita Senior Center; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn also serves with great distinction as a senior representative of the McClendon Baptist Church Youth Leadership Team, and she also sings in her church's youth praise team and in her church's youth choir; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn currently holds the titles of Louisiana Junior Miss and Ouachita Junior Miss; and

WHEREAS, Katelyn's performance at the 2010 Louisiana Junior Miss competition earned two separate awards for a total of \$3,500 in cash scholarships, and she has also earned the opportunity to compete at the next level of the Junior Miss competition; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Junior Miss competition is an official preliminary competition of the America's Junior Miss scholarship program; and

WHEREAS, the America's Junior Miss scholarship program awards college scholarships to young women like Katelyn who have distinguished themselves at school and in their communities; and

WHEREAS, as Louisiana Junior Miss for 2010, Katelyn, along with Junior Miss winners from all fifty states, is traveling to Mobile, Alabama, for the 53rd Annual America's Junior Miss National Finals on June 24, 2010, through June 26, 2010, where she has the opportunity to compete for a share in at least \$150,000 in cash scholarships; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana Junior Miss Katelyn von Diezelski merits a special measure of commendation for the tremendous honor and pride that she brings to her family, friends, and community, West Monroe High School, the city of West Monroe, and the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Katelyn von Diezelski of West Monroe, 2010 Louisiana Junior Miss, for her outstanding accomplishments, does hereby recognize and record for posterity her singular contributions to her school and community, and does hereby extend best wishes for continued success and happiness in all of her future endeavors.

HCR NO. 21 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Katelyn von Diezelski.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE