HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, BISHOP, BOURRIAQUE, BOYD, BRASS, BROWN, BRYANT, BUTLER, CARPENTER, CARRIER, ROBBY CARTER, WILFORD CARTER, CORMIER, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DESHOTEL, DEVILLIER, DUBUISSON, ECHOLS, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FISHER, FONTENOT, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, FRIEMAN, GADBERRY, GAINES, GAROFALO, GEYMANN, GLOVER, GOUDEAU, GREEN, HARRIS, HILFERTY, HODGES, HOLLIS, HORTON, HUGHES, HUVAL, ILLG, IVEY, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JORDAN, KERNER, KNOX, LACOMBE, LAFLEUR, LANDRY, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, LARVADAIN, MARINO, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, MOORE, MUSCARELLO, NELSON, NEWELL, ORGERON, CHARLES OWEN, ROBERT OWEN, PHELPS, PIERRE, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHAMERHORN, SCHLEGEL, SEABAUGH, SELDERS, ST. BLANC, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, TARVER, THOMAS, THOMPSON, TURNER, VILLIO, WHEAT, WHITE, WILLARD, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE AND SENATORS ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CORTEZ, DUPLESSIS, FESI, FIELDS, FOIL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, KLEINPETER, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MILLIGAN, ROBERT MILLS, MIZELL, MORRIS, PEACOCK, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, TALBOT, AND WOMACK

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023

National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I women's basketball championship.

WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball team capped off a historic season in a dominating fashion by defeating the University of Iowa Hawkeyes, 102-85, in the championship game on April 2, 2023; the victory gives LSU its first-ever national championship in women's basketball; and

WHEREAS, for the second consecutive season, the Tigers were led by Coach Kim Mulkey, a Louisiana native and 2020 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee; in addition to Coach Mulkey, LSU also leaned on unanimous first-team All-American Angel Reese, who posted fifteen points, ten rebounds, and five assists in the championship game; Reese was also named the 2023 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and set the NCAA single-season record with thirty-four double-doubles; and WHEREAS, the Tigers finished the 2022-2023 season with thirty-four total wins and only two losses; the team also finished the season with a Southeastern Conference record of fifteen wins and one loss; they entered the 2023 NCAA women's tournament seeded third in the Greenville Regional 2; on the road to the championship game, the Tigers also collected the program's first Final Four victory during their championship run; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2023 National Champion LSU Tigers women's basketball team are LaDazhia Williams, Jasmine Carson, Flau'jae Johnson, Sa'Myah Smith, Angel Reese, Emily Ward, Last-Tear Poa, Izzy Besselman, Alisa Williams, Hannah Gusters, Amani Bartlett, Alexis Morris, and Kateri Poole; the LSU coaches are Head Coach Kim Mulkey and assistant coaches Bob Starkey, Daphne Mitchell, and Gary Redus II; and

WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball team are most deserving of the highest recognition for its unprecedented, national championship season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I women's basketball championship and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the players and coaches continue their incredible work and always strive for greatness.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE