HLS 23RS-918 ORIGINAL

2023 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, BISHOP, BOURRIAQUE, BOYD, BRASS, BROWN, BRYANT, BUTLER, CARPENTER, CARRIER, ROBBY CARTER, WILFORD CARTER, CORMIER, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DESHOTEL, DEVILLIER, DUBUISSON, ECHOLS, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FISHER, FONTENOT, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, FRIEMAN, GADBERRY, GAINES, GAROFALO, GEYMANN, GLOVER, GOUDEAU, GREEN, HARRIS, HILFERTY, HODGES, HOLLIS, HORTON, HUGHES, HUVAL, ILLG, IVEY, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JORDAN, KERNER, KNOX, LACOMBE, LAFLEUR, LANDRY, LARVADAIN, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, MOORE, MUSCARELLO, NELSON, NEWELL, ORGERON, CHARLES OWEN, ROBERT OWEN, PHELPS, PIERRE, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHAMERHORN, SCHLEGEL, SEABAUGH, SELDERS, ST. BLANC, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, TARVER, THOMAS, THOMPSON, TURNER, VILLIO, WHEAT, WHITE, WILLARD, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Louisiana State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I women's basketball championship

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023
3	National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I women's basketball
4	championship.
5	WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball
6	team capped off a historic season in a dominating fashion by defeating the University of
7	Iowa Hawkeyes, 102-85, in the championship game on April 2, 2023; the victory gives LSU
8	its first-ever national championship in women's basketball; and
9	WHEREAS, for the second consecutive season, the Tigers were led by Coach Kim
10	Mulkey, a Louisiana native and 2020 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee;
11	in addition to Coach Mulkey, LSU also leaned on unanimous first-team All-American Angel
12	Reese, who posted fifteen points, ten rebounds, and five assists in the championship game;

HLS 23RS-918

ORIGINAL
HCR NO. 20

1 Reese was also named the 2023 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player and set the 2 NCAA single-season record with thirty-four double-doubles; and 3 WHEREAS, the Tigers finished the 2022-2023 season with thirty-four total wins and 4 only two losses; the team also finished the season with a Southeastern Conference record of 5 fifteen wins and one loss; they entered the 2023 NCAA women's tournament seeded third 6 in the Greenville Regional 2; on the road to the championship game, the Tigers also 7 collected the program's first Final Four victory during their championship run; and 8 WHEREAS, the members of the 2023 National Champion LSU Tigers women's 9 basketball team are LaDazhia Williams, Jasmine Carson, Flau'jae Johnson, Sa'Myah Smith, 10 Angel Reese, Emily Ward, Last-Tear Poa, Izzy Besselman, Alisa Williams, Hannah Gusters, 11 Amani Bartlett, Alexis Morris, and Kateri Poole; the LSU coaches are head coach Kim 12 Mulkey and assistant coaches Bob Starkey, Daphne Mitchell, and Gary Redus II; and 13 WHEREAS, the 2022-2023 Louisiana State University Tigers women's basketball 14 team are most deserving of the highest recognition for its unprecedented, national 15 championship season. 16 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 17 commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023 18 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I women's basketball championship and

## DIGEST

does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the players and coaches continue their incredible

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 20 Original

work and always strive for greatness.

19

20

2023 Regular Session

Schexnayder

Commends the La. State University women's basketball team on winning the 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Assoc. Div. I women's basketball championship.