HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 197

BY REPRESENTATIVES KATRINA JACKSON, BADON, BARRAS, BERTHELOT, WESLEY BISHOP, BROADWATER, BURRELL, CARMODY, DANAHAY, DIXON, EDWARDS, FANNIN, GAROFALO, GUILLORY, HAZEL, HONORE, HUNTER, JAMES, JEFFERSON, KLECKLEY, LEGER, LIGI, MORENO, JAY MORRIS, PIERRE, RITCHIE, SCHEXNAYDER, SIMON, SMITH, TALBOT, ALFRED WILLIAMS, PATRICK WILLIAMS, AND WILLMOTT AND SENATORS ADLEY, ALARIO, ALLAIN, AMEDEE, APPEL, BROOME, BROWN, BUFFINGTON, CHABERT, CLAITOR, CORTEZ, CROWE, DONAHUE, DORSEY-COLOMB, ERDEY, GALLOT, GUILLORY, HEITMEIER, JOHNS, KOSTELKA, LAFLEUR, LONG, MARTINY, MILLS, MORRELL, MORRISH, MURRAY, NEVERS, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD, AND WHITE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Ms. Ruth Johnson for her years of outstanding public service to the citizens of Louisiana as she departs the position of secretary of the Department of Children and Family Services.

WHEREAS, Ms. Ruth Johnson is one of Louisiana's truly outstanding public servants, and in her distinguished career of over twenty-nine years with the state she has served capably in key management and leadership roles with the Department of Corrections, the office of juvenile justice, and the Department of Children and Family Services; and

WHEREAS, it is with regret that the members of the Legislature of Louisiana learned of Ms. Johnson's upcoming departure from the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) where she has served as secretary since June of 2010; and

WHEREAS, as the department head for DCFS, Ms. Johnson oversees major federal assistance programs in the state including Temporary Assistance for Needy Families and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (formerly known as Food Stamps), as well as the state's foster care, child support enforcement, and child abuse and neglect investigation programs; and

HCR NO. 197 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, prior to her appointment by Governor Bobby Jindal to the position of secretary, Ms. Johnson served as undersecretary for the DCFS office of management and finance, a position she assumed in October of 2008; and

WHEREAS, positions in which Ms. Johnson served previously include deputy undersecretary of the office of juvenile justice from 2005 to 2008 and accountant manager at the Department of Corrections from 2002 to 2005; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Johnson earned national recognition in 2012 when she was elected to serve as the secretary of the National Council of State and Human Services Administrators of the American Public Human Services Association, a prominent bipartisan organization founded in 1930 which pursues excellence in health and social services; and

WHEREAS, for her keen intellect and incomparable professionalism, Ms. Johnson has earned the deepest respect from those who know her, and from members of the legislative committees before which she testified frequently on vital issues of public policy; and

WHEREAS, behind her calm and composed expression there burns a passion for serving children and families with the greatest needs and most challenging circumstances; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Johnson has accepted an offer to serve as deputy director for finance and administration at the Department of Health and Human Services of the state of South Carolina; and

WHEREAS, her move to South Carolina is due to her wish to be close to her son, Seth, as he embarks on a college basketball career in that state; and

WHEREAS, the state of Louisiana will sorely miss the remarkable leadership and steadfast dedication of Ruth Johnson, a truly outstanding public servant.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Ms. Ruth Johnson for her years of outstanding public service to the citizens of Louisiana as she departs the position of secretary of the Department of Children and Family Services and does hereby wish her the very best in all of her future endeavors.

HCR NO. 197 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Ms. Ruth Johnson.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE