A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend members of the administration, faculty, and staff of Hopewell Elementary School and Hopewell High School in Dubach, Louisiana.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend members of the administration, faculty, and staff of Hopewell Elementary School and Hopewell High School in Dubach, Louisiana, upon the memorable and historic occasion of the Hopewell School Reunion in June of 2012; and

WHEREAS, the upstanding citizens who worked at the Hopewell schools were blessed with a gift for educating and provided a shining example of all that is possible in life; and

WHEREAS, principals were Louis Flournoy and the late Essie Wright, Theresa Adams, Rufus Washington, C.H. Shyne, and Oscar Williams; and

WHEREAS, elementary teachers were Robbie Wiltz, Leila Morris, Clotiel Brewster Lewis, Naomi Ross, Karen Nabors, and Mary Beard, as well as the late Johnny B. Slaton Davis, Mattie Richmond, Celia Jones, Lorene Porter, Millie Spivey White Brown, Lucille Shyne, Joyce Williams, Mary Ann Washington, Macie Roane, Louella Carter, Avis Jenson, Eddie Davenport, Jeanette Mouton Henry, and Hazel Anderson; and

WHEREAS, high school teachers were Howard Brown, Clarence Kennedy, Freddie Jones, Alpha Smith Jones, James McDonald, Emma Wilson, Dot Colvin, James Wilson, Foster Harris, Elnora Roane Montgomery, and Arvella McCoy as well as the late Dorothy Prescott, Ruby James, Louis Collier, Mildred McNeal, Roosevelt Dunn, Roscoe Rollins, Clyde Farrar, Richard Ludley, and Georgia Maryland; and

WHEREAS, other staffers at the Hopewell Schools included the late Easter Scales Malone, Geneva Dawson, Essie Bass, Essie Brown, J.D. Dawson, Willie T. Porter, Velma McNeal, Grover Washington, Thurmon Smith, and Robert Heard; and

HCR NO. 166 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, these outstanding educators provided leadership to those in need of

learning, brought out the best in their students, and instilled in them the importance of

education, hard work, and ethical behavior; and

WHEREAS, the administration, faculty, and staff of Hopewell Elementary School

and Hopewell High School merit a special measure of commendation for the special place

they hold in the annals of Louisiana history and for their enduring legacy of excellence in

education.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend members of the administration, faculty, and staff of Hopewell Elementary School

and Hopewell High School in Dubach, Louisiana, for their service to their students and

community, does hereby recognize and record for posterity the outstanding accomplishments

and many contributions of these wonderful individuals, and does hereby extend to them and

their families enduring gratitude for the pride and honor that they will forever bring to the

Dubach community, the state of Louisiana, and the United States of America.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to Phillip Snowden, president of the Hopewell School Foundation, Inc.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Page 2 of 2