HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 13

BY REPRESENTATIVES TUCKER, CHANEY, HARDY, HENRY, ABRAMSON, ANDERS, ARMES, ARNOLD, AUBERT, AUSTIN BADON, BOBBY BADON, BALDONE, BARRAS, BARROW, BILLIOT, BROSSETT, BURFORD, HENRY BURNS, TIM BURNS, BURRELL, CARMODY, CARTER, CHAMPAGNE, CHANDLER, CONNICK, CORTEZ, CROMER, DANAHAY, DIXON, DOERGE, DOVE, DOWNS, EDWARDS, ELLINGTON, FANNIN, FOIL, FRANKLIN, GALLOT, GEYMANN, GISCLAIR, GREENE, GUILLORY, GUINN, HARRISON, HAZEL, HENDERSON, HILL, HINES, HOFFMANN, HOWARD, HUTTER, GIROD JACKSON, MICHAEL JACKSON, JOHNSON, ROSALIND JONES, SAM JONES, KATZ, KLECKLEY, LABRUZZO, LAFONTA, LAMBERT, LANDRY, LEBAS, LEGER, LIGI, LITTLE, LOPINTO, LORUSSO, MCVEA, MILLS, MONICA, MONTOUCET, MORRIS, NORTON, NOWLIN, PEARSON, PERRY, PONTI, POPE, PUGH, RICHARD, RICHARDSON, RICHMOND, RITCHIE, ROBIDEAUX, ROY, SCHRODER, SIMON, SMILEY, GARY SMITH, JANE SMITH, PATRICIA SMITH, ST. GERMAIN, STIAES, TALBOT, TEMPLET, THIBAUT, THIERRY, WADDELL, WHITE, WILLIAMS, WILLMOTT, AND WOOTON AND SENATORS ADLEY, ALARIO, AMEDEE, APPEL, BROOME, CHABERT, CHAISSON, CHEEK, CLAITOR, CROWE, DONAHUE, DORSEY, DUPLESSIS, ERDEY, B. GAUTREAUX, N. GAUTREAUX, GUILLORY, HEBERT, HEITMEIER, JACKSON, KOSTELKA, LAFLEUR, LONG, MARIONNEAUX, MARTINY, MCPHERSON, MICHOT, MORRELL, MORRISH, MOUNT, MURRAY, NEVERS, PETERSON, QUINN, RISER, SHAW, SMITH, THOMPSON, AND WALSWORTH

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the New Orleans Saints upon winning Super Bowl XLIV.

WHEREAS, on Sunday, February 7, 2010, the hearts and minds of every "Who Dat" fan were in Miami, Florida, at Super Bowl XLIV, where we experienced the dramatic and historic conclusion of an extraordinary season and witnessed the New Orleans Saints capture the championship of the National Football League; and

WHEREAS, on this truly great night, before the largest national audience for any program in the history of American television and a crowd of 74,059 fans at Sun Life Stadium, the New Orleans Saints earned the possession of the legendary Vince Lombardi trophy by handily defeating the Indianapolis Colts 31-17 to become the undisputed world champions; and

WHEREAS, the special memory of that awesome night when the Saints went marching into history is one that will never fade in the hearts and minds of Saints fans throughout Louisiana, the country, and the world; and

HCR NO. 13 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the greatness of the 2009 season could not have been achieved without

the phenomenal guidance, dedication, and skills of Head Coach Sean Payton and the entire

coaching staff as well as all others involved with the Saints' incomparable professional

football program; and

WHEREAS, additionally, the remarkable talents and determination of every player

on the 2009 Saints team, including quarterback Drew Brees, who was named Most Valuable

Player, led to this outstanding season and its thrilling culmination in victory at the Super

Bowl; and

WHEREAS, the spectacular victory of the Black and Gold continues to be celebrated

by members of the "Who Dat Nation" in Louisiana and beyond; and

WHEREAS, this incredible victory is an indelible part of an extraordinary era in the

history of the Saints franchise and has created a memory that will forever be cherished by

Saints fans in generations to come; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize and express enduring appreciation for the

immense pride and honor that the New Orleans Saints bring to the city of New Orleans and

the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

recognize and record for posterity the victory of the New Orleans Saints in Super Bowl

XLIV and their magnificent performance during the 2009 season and does hereby commend

and congratulate the players, Sean Payton and the coaching staff, and the entire Saints

football family upon this historic victory.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution be transmitted to Head

Coach Sean Payton, Executive Vice President/General Manager Mickey Loomis,

owner/Executive Vice President Rita Benson LeBlanc, and owner Tom Benson.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Page 2 of 2