2024 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 127

BY REPRESENTATIVE OWEN

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the citizens of Louisiana who lost their lives on June 6, 1944, in the D-Day invasion in Normandy, France.

WHEREAS, World War II was the largest and deadliest war in the history of mankind with more than four hundred thousand members of America's armed forces killed in combat as they fought to preserve world freedom; and

WHEREAS, the United States of America, in its alliance with Great Britain, France, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Soviet Union, and other nations, sacrificed blood and treasure in the epic battle against the Axis powers and played an instrumental role in defeating tyranny and freeing millions around the world; and

WHEREAS, the state of Louisiana, as well as all other states in the republic, sent thousands of its native sons to fight and sacrifice on foreign battlefields; and

WHEREAS, these men hailed from the parishes of Rapides, Iberia, Orleans, Franklin, Ascension, Caddo, Union, Lincoln, Richland, Madison, Avoyelles, Sabine, Morehouse, Bienville, LaSalle, Lafourche, St. Landry, St. Tammany, and Arcadia.

WHEREAS, many campaigns and battles of the war were critical; however, none were as critical as the battle that took place on the sixth of June when the allies invaded the European continent in what is known as the D-Day invasion; and

WHEREAS, one hundred fifty-six thousand allied service members and seventythree thousand Americans were involved in the D-Day invasion, and two thousand five hundred two Americans lost their lives in the valiant effort to gain a foothold in France; and

WHEREAS, in the course of what history has called the "Day of Days", the state of Louisiana lost thirty-three of its native sons that day; and

HCR NO. 127 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, with great intrepidity, conspicuous gallantry, and a devotion to duty and country, these Louisianans gave their lives on the beaches of Normandy, in the stormy North Atlantic and in the skies over the battlefield; and

WHEREAS, of the thirty-three killed in action, two were commissioned officers, seven were non-commissioned officers, and twenty-four were junior enlisted personnel; and

WHEREAS, the remains of twelve of these men were returned to their beloved home state, seventeen are buried in American cemeteries in France, one was buried in England, and three were never located; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby salute, honor, and pledge to never forget these valiant men who gave their lives for this great country, our great state, and all of our liberties on June 6, 1944.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the names of the following men shall forever be honored for sacrificing their lives for the cause of liberty in the name of the United States of America, the state of Louisiana, their communities, and their families:

- (1) First Lieutenant James Holstun of Gibsland.
- (2) First Lieutenant Howard Brewster of Ruston.
- (3) Technical Sergeant Francis Guillory of Eunice.
- (4) Staff Sergeant Alvin Rainey of New Orleans.
- (5) Staff Sergeant Clarence Uzee of Lockport.
- (6) Sergeant George Weil of Rayne.
- (7) Sergeant Leonard Davis of Sabine Parish.
- (8) Sergeant John Hall of Oak Grove.
- (9) Sergeant John Emanus of Sabine Parish.
- (10) Technician John Bray of New Orleans.
- (11) Technician Fields Rush of Pineville.
- (12) Technician John Berlin of New Orleans.
- (13) Technician Alexander Oakley of New Orleans.
- (14) Technician 5th Class Royd Keys of Winnsboro.
- (15) Technician 4th Class Luther Lockey of Shreveport.
- (16) Machinist Mate Richard Harang of New Orleans.
- (17) Motor Machinist's Mate Glenn Soap of Shreveport.

HCR NO. 127 ENROLLED

- (18) Corporal Sidney Manuel of Eunice.
- (19) Corporal Albert Callais.
- (20) Corporal Frank Cheek of Rapides Parish.
- (21) Private First Class Bose Kelly of Shreveport.
- (22) Private First Class Houston Duhon of New Iberia.
- (23) Private First Class Reginald Brock of Rayville.
- (24) Private First Class Claude Brownell of Madison Parish.
- (25) Private First Class Earl Howe of Marksville.
- (26) Private First Class J.T. Pardue of Union Parish.
- (27) Private Whitney Faulk of New Orleans.
- (28) Private Andrew Kling of Dutchtown.
- (29) Private Joe Peters.
- (30) Private Simpson Courson of Bastrop.
- (31) Private Raymond Bell of LaSalle Parish.
- (32) Private George Baragona of Slidell.
- (33) Private Sidney DeRise of Rayne.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE