2019 Regular Session

HOUSE BILL NO. 570

## BY REPRESENTATIVE GAROFALO

Prefiled pursuant to Article III, Section 2(A)(4)(b)(i) of the Constitution of Louisiana.

LEVEES/BDS & DISTRICTS: Provides relative to the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authorities

1	AN ACT
2	To amend and reenact R.S. 38:330.1(C)(1)(a) and (b)(introductory paragraph) and (ii) and
3	to repeal R.S. 38:330.1(B)(1)(a)(v), relative to the Southeast Louisiana Flood
4	Protection Authorities; to remove a district from each authority; to increase the
5	maximum number of members on the board of commissioners from each parish
6	within the territorial jurisdiction of each authority; to expand the area within which
7	three members of the board of commissioners must reside; to remove the educational
8	requirement for three members with ten years or more professional experience; and
9	to provide for related matters.
10	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
11	Section 1. R.S. 38:330.1(C)(1)(a) and (b)(introductory paragraph) and (ii) are hereby
12	amended and reenacted to read as follows:
13	§330.1. Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority-East and Southeast
14	Louisiana Flood Protection Authority-West Bank; territorial jurisdiction;
15	board of commissioners; appointments; terms; compensation; vacancy;
16	officers; meetings; domicile
17	* * *
18	C.(1) There is hereby created a board of commissioners for each flood
19	protection authority as follows:

## Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

Garofalo

1	(a) The board of commissioners of the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection
2	Authority-East shall be composed of nine members, of whom there shall be at least,
3	and not more than, one member not more than two members from each parish within
4	the territorial jurisdiction of the authority. The members shall be appointed by the
5	governor from nominations submitted by the nominating committee as follows:
6	* * *
7	(b) The board of commissioners of the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection
8	Authority-West Bank shall be composed of seven members of whom two shall reside
9	in Jefferson Parish on the west side of the Mississippi River within the jurisdiction
10	of the authority, two shall reside in Orleans Parish on the west side of the Mississippi
11	River, and three shall reside from either outside of Jefferson and Orleans parishes,
12	on the east side of the Mississippi River in Jefferson Parish, or on the east side of the
13	Mississippi River in Orleans Parish. The members shall be appointed by the
14	governor from nominations submitted by the nominating committee as follows:
15	* * *
16	(ii) Three members, each of whom shall be a professional in a discipline
17	other than those identified in Item (i) of this Subparagraph who shall at a minimum
18	hold a baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution of higher learning with at
19	least ten years of professional experience in that discipline.
20	* * *
21	Section 2. R.S. $38:330.1(B)(1)(a)(v)$ is hereby repealed.

## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 570 Original	2019 Regular Session

Abstract: Removes a district from the Southeast La. Flood Protection Authorities. Increases the maximum number of members on the board from each parish within the territorial jurisdiction of the authority. Expands the area within which three members of the board of commissioners must reside.

<u>Present law</u> provides that there must be at least, and not more than, one member from each parish within the territorial jurisdiction of the authority.

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

<u>Proposed law</u> modifies <u>present law</u> by increasing the potential number of members to not more than two.

<u>Present law</u> provides that three members of the board of commissioners of the Southeast La. Flood Protection Authority-West Bank must reside outside of Jefferson and Orleans parishes.

<u>Proposed law</u> modifies <u>present law</u> by increasing the area to include the east side of the Mississippi River in Jefferson Parish, or on the east side of the Mississippi River in Orleans Parish.

<u>Present law</u> provides that three members of the board of commissioners of the Southeast La. Flood Protection Authority-West Bank must be a professional in a discipline other than geotechnical, hydrological, or environmental science with at least ten years of professional experience in that discipline and, at minimum, a baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution of higher learning.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the requirement that the members have, at minimum, a baccalaureate from an accredited institution of higher learning.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the following levee districts and parts of levee districts and parishes shall be included within the Southeast La. Flood Protection Authority-East: (i) East Jefferson Levee District, (ii) Lake Borgne Basin Levee District, (iii) New Orleans Levee District, and (iv) Tangipahoa Levee District.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the Tangipaphoa Levee District from the list of districts included within the Southeast La. Flood Protection Authority-East.

(Amends R.S. 38:330.1(C)(1)(a) and (b)(intro. para.) and (ii); Repeals R.S. 38:330.1(B)(1)(a)(v))