DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 806 Engrossed	2024 Regular Session	Gevmann
IID 600 Eligiossed	2024 Regular Session	Ocymann

Abstract: Removes the secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development, the secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development, the commissioner of administration, the commissioner of agriculture and forestry, the commissioner of insurance, and the director of the Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP) from the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board.

<u>Present law</u> establishes the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board and provides for membership of the board.

Present law provides that the board is to be composed of the following members:

- (1) Executive assistant to the governor for coastal activities.
- (2) Secretary of the Dept. of Energy and Natural Resources or his designee.
- (3) Secretary of the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries or his designee.
- (4) Secretary of the Dept. of Environmental Quality or his designee.
- (5) Secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development or his designee.
- (6) Secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development or his designee.
- (7) Commissioner of administration or his designee.
- (8) Commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee.
- (9) Commissioner of insurance or his designee.
- (10) Eight members appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of La. and the Assoc. of Levee Boards of La., from nominations submitted by coastal area levee districts, legislators, and parish governing authorities, and representing seven specified hydrologic basins.
- (11) The chair of the Governor's Advisory Commission on Coastal Protection, Restoration, and Conservation or his designee.

- (12) The director of the Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness or his designee.
- (13) The speaker of the House of Representatives, or his designee (ex officio).
- (14) The president of the Senate, or his designee (ex officio).
- (15) The lieutenant governor or his designee who is an employee of the office of lieutenant governor.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the following members from the board:

- (1) Secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development or his designee.
- (2) Secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development or his designee.
- (3) Commissioner of administration or his designee.
- (4) Commissioner of agriculture and forestry or his designee.
- (5) Commissioner of insurance or his designee.
- (6) The director of Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness or his designee.

<u>Proposed law</u> directs the La. State Law Institute to renumber the list of board members and to correct any cross-references that may need to be changed as a result of this renumbering.

Effective upon signature of governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Repeals R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(5)-(9) and (12))