UNOFFICIAL COPY

22 RS BR 2391

A RESOLUTION honoring the George Rogers Clark High School Cardinals, 2022
 Kentucky High School Athletic Association Boys' Basketball Champions.

WHEREAS, on March 19, 2022, in front of a crowd of 11,957, the George Rogers
Clark High School Cardinals defeated the Dragons of Warren Central High School by a
score of 43 to 42 in the championship game of the UK HealthCare Boys' Sweet Sixteen;
and

WHEREAS, the victory in the championship game marked the Cardinals' second
state championship in school history and capped off an incredible season of 37 wins
against just a single loss, with an undefeated record against schools from Kentucky; and

WHEREAS, the season-long dominance of the Cardinals, the top-ranked team in
the state all year, was perhaps best evidenced by their 31-point average margin of victory
prior to the semifinals of the Sweet Sixteen; and

WHEREAS, while most of the season showcased the Cardinals' dominance, their toughness and resiliency were evident as they survived the true test of a champion on the Saturday of the Sweet Sixteen, defeating Lincoln County in double overtime in the morning semifinal before winning the championship in a one-point thriller that evening; and

WHEREAS, the championship game was a tense affair, with both teams making
huge runs, and the Cardinals found themselves trailing the Dragons by five points, 36 to
31, with 7 minutes and 21 seconds remaining in the game; and

WHEREAS, the Cardinals proceeded to go on an 11-2 run, with four different players scoring, capped off by a three-point play by junior Trent Edwards with 1 minute and 11 seconds left on the clock, giving the Cardinals a 43-38 lead, from which they held on for the victory; and

WHEREAS, the Cardinals placed three players on the All-Tournament Team: junior guard Jerone Morton, who was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player; and senior guards Aden Sloan and Tanner Walton; and

Page 1 of 2

UNOFFICIAL COPY

1	WHEREAS, other members of the Cardinals' squad included seniors Chester
2	Abbott, Armaan Manak, Stanley Smothers, and Sammy Hernandez; juniors Tyleik
3	Maxwell, Sam Parrish, and Kareem Guerrant; and sophomores Jaylen Berry, Brady
4	Davis, JP Gaines, Jacob Smith, and Reshaun Hampton; and
5	WHEREAS, the Cardinals were coached to victory by Josh Cook, who, in 6 seasons
6	with the Cardinals, has amassed a record of 176 wins and 39 losses, including three
7	consecutive 10th Region Championships; and
8	WHEREAS, Coach Cook was assisted by coaches Joseph Gomes, Taylor Howard,
9	Dylan James, and Jason Neely; and
10	WHEREAS, the hard work, dedication, and achievements of the George Rogers
11	Clark Cardinals are surely worthy of public recognition as they have cemented their place
12	in the annals of Kentucky interscholastic sports history;
13	NOW, THEREFORE,
14	Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of
15	Kentucky:
16	\clubsuit Section 1. The members of this body, both individually and collectively, do
17	hereby join Senator Ralph Alvarado in congratulating the George Rogers Clark High
18	School Cardinals, Coach Josh Cook, and the assistant coaches upon winning the 2022
19	KHSAA Boys' Sweet Sixteen Championship, and wishing them good fortune in all future
20	endeavors.
21	Section 2. The Clerk of the Senate shall transmit a copy of this Resolution
22	Senator Palph Alvarado for presentation to the team

22 Senator Ralph Alvarado for presentation to the team.