## **UNOFFICIAL COPY**

21 RS BR 1961

1	A RESOLUTION honoring the 1971 Kentucky State University men's track and
2	field team upon the 50th anniversary of their national championship.
3	WHEREAS, the 1971 Kentucky State University men's track and field NCAA
4	Division II national championship team celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2021; and
5	WHEREAS, Coach Ken Gibson led his team to two first-place, two second-place,
6	and one third-place finish in the events to capture the championship; and
7	WHEREAS, the Kentucky State University team earned 11 All-Americans, and the
8	team was the second Historically Black College and University to win the championship;
9	and
10	WHEREAS, Dick Garrett placed first in the 100-yard dash and second in the 220-
11	yard dash; Steve Jordan placed first in the 440-yard dash; the team of Charles Stallworth,
12	Ronald Murphy, Steve Jordan, and Dick Garrett placed second in the 4x100-yard relay;
13	and the team of Ronald Murphy, Charles Stallworth, Allen Pinkston, and Steve Jordan
14	placed third in the 4x440-yard relay;
15	NOW, THEREFORE,
16	Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of
17	Kentucky:
18	$\Rightarrow$ Section 1. The members of the Senate, individually and collectively, hereby
19	honor the 1971 Kentucky State University men's track and field team, and rightfully
20	congratulate them as they celebrate the 50th anniversary of their national championship.
21	Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the 1971
22	Kentucky State University men's track and field team.
23	Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
24	Resolution to Senator Adrienne Southworth for delivery.