17 RS BR 1894

1 A RESOLUTION honoring the Russell County High School girls' basketball team. 2 WHEREAS, after being defeated in the championship game of the 16th District 3 Tournament, the Russell County High School Lakers faced long odds as it entered 4th 4 Region Tournament play; and 5 WHEREAS, the Lakers, ably led by Coach Scott Pippen, dispatched Franklin-6 Simpson and South Warren High Schools before facing Monroe County in the 7 championship game on March 5, 2017; and 8 WHEREAS, led by Kaitlyn Coffey's 18 points and Addison Loy's 13, the Lakers 9 defeated Monroe County 54-51 to earn a berth in the 2017 St. Elizabeth 10 Healthcare/KHSAA Girls' Sweet Sixteen; and 11 WHEREAS, even though the Lakers fell in a three-overtime affair against Franklin 12 County in the Sweet Sixteen, the season was one of the finest in the program's history, as 13 it saw the Lakers win 26 games and play for a Kentucky state championship; and 14 WHEREAS, it is appropriate that this honorable body commend those athletic 15 teams who band together to achieve greatness in their particular sport; and 16 WHEREAS, in this spirit, the members congratulate the Russell County High 17 School girls' basketball team upon winning the 4th Region Tournament and competing in 18 the Sweet Sixteen, acknowledge the hard work of the coaching staff for what it has 19 accomplished for these young women on and off the court, and commend the Russell 20 County community for their ardent and passionate support of this extraordinary team; 21 NOW, THEREFORE, 22 Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 23 Kentucky: 24 The members of the Senate hereby honor the Russell County High \rightarrow Section 1. 25 School girls' basketball team upon winning the 4th Region Championship and playing in 26 the 2017 St. Elizabeth Healthcare/KHSAA Girls' Sweet Sixteen. 27 \rightarrow Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the Russell

Page 1 of 2

1 County High School girls' basketball team.

2 →Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
3 Resolution to Michael Carpenter, Athletic Director, 2166 US 127, Russell Springs,
4 Kentucky 42642.