UNOFFICIAL COPY

21 RS BR 1895

1	A CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	establishing	the	County	Clerk	Office
2	Modernization Task Force.						

- WHEREAS, new technology has been developed in recent years that has applicable
 uses in the recording of official documents; and
- 5 WHEREAS, investment in new technology can improve the efficiency of county 6 clerk offices around the Commonwealth in the recording of official documents; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interests of all the parties involved in the recording of
official documents to create policies that ensure the continued operation of the county
clerk offices during a pandemic, natural disaster, or other emergency;

10 NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

Section 1. (1) The Legislative Research Commission shall establish the
County Clerk Office Modernization Task Force to examine issues regarding the
implementation of electronic recording, fees or functions of the county clerk involved in
the recording of documents, closure of county clerk offices due to an emergency order,
natural disaster, or pandemic, or any further legislation relating to this Act.

18 (2) The task force shall comprehensively investigate the electronic recording 19 process in the Commonwealth to identify policy options to streamline the process of 20 electronic filing of documents, digitization, electronic searching of existing property 21 records, increasing efficiency, reducing costs, and decreasing paperwork and redundancy.

(3) The task force shall review studies and legislative action by other states and
by the federal government on electronic filing of documents and digital searching of
existing records.

(4) The task force shall be composed of the following members, with final
membership subject to the consideration and approval of the Legislative Research
Commission:

UNOFFICIAL COPY

21 RS BR 1895

- (a) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the
 House of Representatives who shall be designated to serve as co-chair;
- 3 (b) One member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate who shall
 4 be designated to serve as co-chair;

5 (c) Three county clerks, one who is the current chair of the recording committee 6 of the Kentucky County Clerks Association, one from a county with a population greater 7 than 90,000, and one from a county with a population less than 90,000 submitted by the 8 president of the County Clerk's Association;

9 (d) Two representatives of the banking industry, selected from a list of three 10 individuals submitted by the Kentucky Bankers Association, one to be appointed by the 11 Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the President of the 12 Senate;

(e) Two representatives of the banking industry, selected from a list of three
individuals submitted by the Bluegrass Community Bankers Association, one to be
appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the
President of the Senate;

17 (f) Two representatives of the mortgage banking industry from a list of three 18 individuals submitted by the Kentucky Mortgage Bankers Association, one to be 19 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the 20 President of the Senate;

(g) Two representatives of the land title industry selected from a list of three
individuals submitted by the Kentucky Land Title Association, one to be appointed by the
Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the President of the
Senate;

(h) Two representatives of the real estate industry selected from a list of three
individuals submitted by the Kentucky REALTORS Association, one to be appointed by
the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the President of

Page 2 of 3

21 RS BR 1895

1 the Senate;

(i) Two representatives of the automobile dealer industry selected from a list of
three individuals submitted by the Kentucky Automobile Dealers Association, one to be
appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the
President of the Senate;

6 (j) Two representatives of the home building industry selected from a list of three 7 individuals submitted by the Home Builders Association of Kentucky, one to be 8 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the 9 President of the Senate;

10 (k) Two representatives of the credit union industry selected from a list of three
11 individuals submitted by the Kentucky Credit Union League, one to be appointed by the
12 Speaker of the House of Representatives and one to be appointed by the President of the
13 Senate;

14 (1) Two county judge/executives submitted by the president of the Kentucky
15 County Judge/Executive Association; and

16

(m) The secretary of the Transportation Cabinet or designee.

17 → Section 2. The task force shall meet at least four times during the 2021 Interim
18 and shall submit its findings and recommendations to the Legislative Research
19 Commission no later than December 1, 2021.

20 → Section 3. Provisions of this Resolution to the contrary notwithstanding, the
21 Legislative Research Commission shall have the authority to alternatively assign the
22 issues identified herein to an interim joint committee or subcommittee thereof, and to
23 designate a study completion date.