**UNOFFICIAL COPY** 21 RS SB 179/GA

1		AN ACT relating to the Kentucky River Authority.
2	Be i	t enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:
3		→ SECTION 1. A NEW SECTION OF KRS CHAPTER 151 IS CREATED TO
4	REA	AD AS FOLLOWS:
5	As u	sed in KRS 151.700 to KRS 151.730:
6	<u>(1)</u>	"Authority" means the Kentucky River Authority;
7	<u>(2)</u>	"Kentucky River basin" or "basin" means all geographic areas of the
8		Commonwealth contained within the watershed of the Kentucky River and its
9		tributaries, including surface water and groundwater, as delineated by the United
10		States Geological Survey; and
11	<u>(3)</u>	"Mainstem of the Kentucky River" means the Kentucky River, including Pool 14,
12		which extends from the North Fork of the Kentucky River at river mile 261.6
13		above the confluence of Walkers Creek, the Middle Fork of the Kentucky River at
14		river mile 6.0 below the confluence of Coal Branch, and the South Fork of the
15		Kentucky River at river mile 4.0 below the confluence of Paw Paw Creek, to River
16		Mile 0 at the confluence with the Ohio River at Carrollton.
17		→ Section 2. KRS 151.710 is amended to read as follows:
18	(1)	The Governor shall appoint members to the Kentucky River Authority, created to
19		carry out the essential public purpose of protecting the health and welfare of the
20		people of the Commonwealth as declared in KRS 151.700.
21	(2)	The authority shall consist of twelve (12) members, appointed by the Governor, as
22		<u>follows:</u> [ shall appoint ]
23		(a) The <u>secretary</u> [secretaries] of the Finance and Administration Cabinet, or the
24		secretary's designee;
25		(b) [ and ]The secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet, or the
26		secretary's designee; and
27		(c) Ten (10) other persons, who shall be residents of the Kentucky River basin,

Page 1 of 3 SB017910.100 - 1511 - XXXX GA

27

UNOFFICIAL COPY 21 RS SB 179/GA

subject to the following conditions:

1

2		1. [ as the members of the authority. The secretaries may designate
3		alternates. Of the ten (10) persons, ]One (1) member shall be an[a
4		registered] engineer licensed in accordance with KRS Chapter 322;
5		2.[,] One (1) member shall be an expert in water quality:
6		3.[,] One (1) member shall be a mayor, and one (1) member shall be a
7		county judge/executive[. The mayor and the county judge/executive
8		shall be officers] from counties which obtain the major portion of their
9		water supply from the Kentucky River:
10		$\underline{4.[.]}$ Five (5) members shall reside in a county adjacent to the
11		<u>mainstem</u> [main stem] of the Kentucky River, with at least one (1) of the
12		five (5) members residing in counties adjacent to locks and dams one (1)
13		through four (4); and <u>at least</u> one (1) <u>of the five (5) members</u>
14		residing[member shall reside] in a county adjacent to either the North
15		Fork, Middle Fork, or South Fork of the Kentucky River[]; and
16		5. None of the members appointed under this paragraph shall [Of the
17		twelve (12) members, only one (1) may] be an employee of the Energy
18		and Environment Cabinet.
19	(3)	[Of the ten (10) members first appointed, two (2) shall continue in office for terms
20		of one (1) year, two (2) for terms of two (2) years, three (3) for terms of three (3)
21		years, and three (3) for terms of four (4) years, as the Governor designates. At the
22		expiration of the original terms and for all succeeding terms, ]The Governor shall
23		appoint <u>members</u> [a successor] to the authority for a term of four (4) years[in each
24		ease]. Members may be reappointed. A vacancy in an unexpired term shall be filled
25		for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original
26		appointment to that term. Any member whose term has expired may continue to
27		serve and vote until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

UNOFFICIAL COPY 21 RS SB 179/GA

1 (4) Each member shall receive as compensation one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for attending a meeting of the authority.

- 3 (5) Any member who misses three (3) consecutive meetings of the authority shall be 4 deemed to have vacated the office. The authority shall declare the office vacant and 5 the office shall be filled as provided by subsections (2) and (3) of this section.
- The authority annually shall elect one (1) of its members as chairman. A quorum for the transaction of business shall be seven (7) members, and a majority of the members present at a meeting may take action on any matter legally before the

9

authority.

- 10 (7) Members shall be paid their necessary travel expenses incurred in attending 11 meetings and in the performance of their official duties, in addition to the per diem 12 compensation of one hundred dollars (\$100).
- 13 (8) The authority shall meet at least quarterly, and may meet upon the call of the chairman.
- 15 (9) The chairman shall be paid necessary travel expenses and a one hundred dollar (\$100) per diem compensation for conducting official business of the authority.
- 17 (10) The authority shall be attached for administrative purposes to the Finance and
  18 Administration Cabinet, and the cabinet shall provide the necessary personnel to
  19 provide administrative services for the authority.
- 20 (11) The necessary travel expenses and per diem compensation of the members of the 21 authority in attending meetings and in the performance of their official duties shall 22 be paid by the authority.
- 23 (12) The authority shall promulgate administrative regulations necessary to carry out its 24 duties, and shall report annually to the Governor and the Legislative Research 25 Commission.

SB017910.100 - 1511 - XXXX