A RESOLUTION honoring the Thomas More College women's basketball team upon winning the NCAA Division III national championship.

WHEREAS, Thomas More College, in Crestview Hills, Kentucky, has become known as a women's basketball powerhouse and has begun to build, behind Head Coach Jeff Hans, a tradition that is nearly unmatched in a Commonwealth that has so many outstanding basketball legacies; and

WHEREAS, the Thomas More College Saints came into the 2015-2016 season as the defending Division III national champions. Looking to build on a 33-0 season, the team went wire-to-wire for the second straight year, winning all of their games except one -- a nine-point victory over Amherst College in the national semifinals -- by double digits; and

WHEREAS, on April 4, 2016, at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana, the Saints defeated Tufts University 63-51 to claim their second straight Division III national championship; and

WHEREAS, the Saints were led by Abby Owings, who scored 17 points on two of four shooting behind the three-point line. Nikki Kiernan and Madison Temple added nine rebounds apiece, and Sydney Moss tallied 14 points, grabbed nine rebounds, and notched four assists, as the Saints became the first back-to-back Division III champion since Washington University of St. Louis won four in a row beginning in the 1998 season; and

WHEREAS, this honorable body today commends Thomas More College for its wire-to-wire season and for winning its second consecutive Division III national championship. It also congratulates Coach Jeff Hans and his staff for what they have done for these young women on and off the court, and acknowledges the entire Thomas More community, the school administrators and faculty, all the support staff, and the families of these players for giving them the necessary foundations to become champions;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the

Commonwealth of Kentucky:

- → Section 1. The House of Representatives hereby honors the Thomas More College women's basketball team upon winning the NCAA Division III national championship.
- → Section 2. When the House of Representatives adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the Thomas More College women's basketball team.
- → Section 3. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to Representative Diane St. Onge for delivery.