UNOFFICIAL COPY 22 RS BR 2326

1	A RESOLUTION honoring the Union County High School Braves Wrestling Team,
2	2022 Kentucky High School Athletic Association State Wrestling Champions.
3	WHEREAS, on February 25 and 26, 2022, at George Rogers Clark High School in
4	Winchester, the Union County Braves captured the 2022 Kentucky High School Athletic
5	Association (KHSAA) State Wrestling championship with a score of 200.5 points, 62
6	points better than the runners-up from Johnson Central High School; and
7	WHEREAS, the Braves were a model of consistency at the championship meet,
8	placing wrestlers among the top eight positions in nine of the 14 weight classes contested;
9	and
10	WHEREAS, the Braves boasted four individual state champions: Jayden Raney in
11	the 106 pound weight class, with a season match record of 40 wins against no losses;
12	Jordyn Raney in the 113 pound class (41-0); Trayce Eckman in the 126 pound class (36-
13	3); and Stephen Little in the 190 pound class (41-2); and
14	WHEREAS, during their dominating run over the weekend, Union County also had
15	wrestlers record three third-place finishes, one fourth-place finish, and one fifth-place
16	finish; and
17	WHEREAS, the Braves' 2022 championship was the 14th in school history,
18	breaking a tie with Woodford County High School and making Union County the
19	winningest wrestling program in history of the Commonwealth; and
20	WHEREAS, this state championship was the seventh consecutive for the Braves; no
21	other school in Kentucky history has ever won more than three titles in a row; and
22	WHEREAS, other members of the Braves included Luke Thomas, Aiden Fowler,
23	Utah Heady, Tristan Griggs, Hunter Jenkins, Luke Beauchamp, Max Morris, Jeremy Ray,
24	Cameron Vinson, Abe Fletcher, Tanya Bacon, Glenn Mayes, Jake Dowdy, Luke Ricketts,
25	Tristan Moore, Gavin Ricketts, Caden Polites, Paxton Ervin, Corithian Seales, Hunter
26	Pogue, Davis Pike, KShaun Brown, Leland Fought, Keaton Garrett, and Gage
27	Clevidence; and

UNOFFICIAL COPY 22 RS BR 2326

1 WHEREAS, the Braves were led to the title by head coach Robert Ervin, who, by 2 winning his eighth title as head coach this year, tied Rusty Parks of Woodford County for 3 the all-time Kentucky record; and 4 WHEREAS, Coach Ervin was assisted by assistant coaches Jarvis Elam, Brooks 5 Black, Robert Ervin, Scott Raney, Brad Ervin, Raynel Brown, and Tim Ervin; and 6 WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the Union County Braves Wrestling 7 Team, as well as their ceaseless dedication to one of the most grueling and intense sports 8 contested in scholastic athletics, are worthy of public recognition and respect, as they 9 have cemented their place in the annals of Kentucky sports history; 10 NOW, THEREFORE, 11 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the 12 Commonwealth of Kentucky: 13 → Section 1. The members of the House of Representatives do hereby recognize 14 and honor the 2022 Union County High School Braves Wrestling Team, Coach Robert 15 Ervin, all the assistant coaches and support staff, and the entire school community on the 16 team's 2022 KHSAA State Wrestling Championship, and wish the team good fortune in 17 all future endeavors. 18 → Section 2. The Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit a copy of 19 this Resolution to Representative Suzanne Miles for presentation to the team.