A RESOLUTION recognizing and commemorating the celebration of Saint
 Patrick's Day.

WHEREAS, in 1631, the Catholic Church established a feast day on March 17, honoring Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland. It is a day to commemorate Saint Patrick and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland. Additionally, Saint Patrick's Day celebrates the heritage and culture of the Irish across the world; and

WHEREAS, Irish Americans join with men, women, and children of all other
ethnic origins who, for one day, become Irish and celebrate Saint Patrick and the love of
Ireland. Celebrants wear green while participating in parades and festivals or dancing an
Irish jig; and

WHEREAS, Irish immigrants to the United States helped form the cultural foundation of the nation and those of Irish lineage proudly sing support for Ireland. The songs of Ireland are the tragic songs of love and the joyous songs of battle; the nostalgic reveries of the sorrows and the glories that are the Emerald Isle; and the lamentations of life's myriad travails and the odes to joy and the life eternal; and

WHEREAS, we celebrate the establishment of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus with its aim of fostering and strengthening the longstanding relationship that exists between the United States of America and Ireland to the mutual benefit of both countries with leadership in all 50 states;

20 NOW, THEREFORE,

21 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the 22 Commonwealth of Kentucky:

23 → Section 1. The House of Representatives commemorates the celebration of the
24 Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland.

25 → Section 2. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a
26 copy of this Resolution to Senator Mark Daly, Chair of the Senate of Ireland, which on
27 this year celebrates its 100 anniversary and the national co-chairs of the American Irish

Page 1 of 2

## UNOFFICIAL COPY

State Legislators Caucus: Speaker Robin Vos of Wisconsin, Assemblywoman Carol
 Murphy of New Jersey, Representative Killian Timoney of Kentucky, Representative
 Fran Hurley of Illinois, Senator Shannon O'Brien of Montana, and Senator Mia Costello
 of Alaska.