## **UNOFFICIAL COPY**

1		AN ACT relating to the Reclamation Guaranty Fund Commission.			
2	Be i	t enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:			
3		→Section 1. KRS 350.506 is amended to read as follows:			
4	(1)	There is hereby created the Reclamation Guaranty Fund Commission which shall be			
5		administratively attached to the cabinet. The commission shall consist of seven (7)			
6		members. One (1) member shall be the secretary of the Energy and Environment			
7		Cabinet, or his or her designee, who shall serve as chair of the commission. The			
8		other six (6) members of the commission shall be appointed by the Governor[ on			
9		<del>July 1, 2013,]</del> as follows:			
10		(a) Three (3) members of the commission shall be representatives of [the ]coal			
11		mining <i>permittees that participate in the fund</i> [industry], with the following			
12		qualifications <i>tiered to represent the size of the operator measured in tons of</i>			
13		<u>coal sold</u> :			
14		1. A representative of a permittee which participates in the fund and has			
15		mined and sold less than one million (1,000,000) tons of coal during the			
16		twelve (12) months preceding appointment;			
17		2. A representative of a permittee which participates in the fund and has			
18		mined and sold over one million (1,000,000) tons but less than five			
19		million (5,000,000) tons of coal during the twelve (12) months			
20		preceding appointment; and			
21		3. [a. ]A representative of a permittee which participates in the			
22		fund and has mined and sold more than five million (5,000,000)			
23		tons of coal during the twelve (12) months preceding			
24		appointment <del>[; or</del>			
25		b. If no permittee which participates in the fund has mined and sold			
26		more than five million (5,000,000) tons of coal in the twelve (12)			
27		months preceding appointment, the member shall be selected from			

1			permittees which meet the criteria for appointment set out in
2			subparagraph 2. of this paragraph];
3			If no permittee that participates in the fund meets the qualifications stated
4			in subparagraph 2. or in subparagraph 3. of this paragraph, then a
5			qualified permittee shall be selected in a lower tier.
6		(b)	Two (2) members of the commission shall be representatives with a
7			background in the insurance and banking industries with knowledge of the
8			coal industry and chosen from a list of [six (6)] nominees submitted by the
9			chair of the commission and the remaining members of the commission; and
10		(c)	One (1) member shall be a certified public accountant who is not associated
11			with, or does not have a financial interest in, coal mining operations in the
12			Commonwealth of Kentucky.
13	(2)	(a)	[The Governor shall initially appoint the other six (6) members as follows,
14			and whose terms shall commence with the beginning date of the establishment
15			of the fund:
16			1. Two (2) members for a term of two (2) years;
17			2. Two (2) members for a term of three (3) years; and
18			3. Two (2) members for a term of four (4) years.
19		<del>(b)</del>	Subsequent ] Appointments shall be made by the Governor for terms of four
20			(4) years. Members may serve successive terms if reappointed, not to exceed
21			two (2) full consecutive terms. Any vacancy in an unexpired term shall be
22			filled for the unexpired portion of the term by the Governor; and
23		<u>(b)</u> [-	(c) ]A member of the commission shall be elected at the first meeting of
24			each fiscal year by majority vote of the other members to serve as vice chair of
25			the commission whose term shall be for one (1) year.
26	(3)	The	commission shall adopt bylaws by which it shall establish procedures for
27		cone	duct of meetings.

## **UNOFFICIAL COPY**

- (4) The official domicile of the commission shall be Franklin County. All actions of the
   commission shall be considered to occur in Franklin County.
- 3 (5) The [commission shall meet no less than once a month with the first meeting to be
  held on or before July 1, 2013, during the first year. Commencing with the second
  year, the ]commission shall meet no less than once every three (3) months. Four (4)
  members of the commission shall constitute a quorum at any meeting.
- 7 (6) Each commission member, except the cabinet representative, shall receive one
  8 hundred fifty dollars (\$150) per diem for each meeting attended. Members of the
  9 commission also shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses directly
  10 related to meetings of the commission.
- 11 (7) If a member of the commission fails to attend four (4) consecutive meetings, the
  position shall be considered to be vacated, and the Governor, after receiving notice
  of the vacancy from the commission, shall immediately appoint a qualified person
  to serve the remainder of the term.
- 15 (8) Any member of the commission having any direct or indirect financial interest or
  any other conflict of interest with respect to an assignment of classification pursuant
  to KRS 350.518, sanctions for nonpayment of fees established in KRS 350.515 and
  350.518, or assessment of the fee pursuant to KRS 350.518, shall not participate in
  any discussion or vote pertaining to specific mining operations for which the
  member is an owner or employee.
- (9) Misuse of the office by a member of the commission to obtain personal, pecuniary,
  or material gain or advantage for himself or a company in his dominion or control
  shall be automatic grounds for removal by the Governor.
- (10) Members of the commission, its agents, and employees shall be immune from suit
  in any action, civil or criminal, which is based upon any official act or acts
  performed by them in good faith.
- 27 (11) Members of the commission, its agents, and employees shall be subject to the terms

1 and provisions of the Executive Branch Code of Ethics, as set forth in KRS Chapter

2 11A.