## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1771

A Resolution congratulating the 2013 University of Kansas women's track and field team on being named NCAA Team Champions.

WHEREAS, The University of Kansas women's track and field team won the 2013 NCAA Team Championship at the historic Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon; and

WHEREAS, This is the seventh NCAA Championship for the University of Kansas track and field team and the first in program history for the women's team; and

WHEREAS, The Jayhawks also saw the program's first ever individual outdoor champion when team member Lindsay Vollmer won first place in the heptathlon; and

WHEREAS, The University of Kansas women finished the meet with 60 points, which was 16 points ahead of the second-place finisher, Texas A&M; and

WHEREAS, Members of the 2013 University of Kansas women's track and field team include Natali Bartnovskaya, Heather Bergmann, Sydney Conley, Paris Daniels, Diamond Dixon, Andrea Geubelle, Christen Guenther, Rhavean King, Alena Krechyk, Jessica Maroszek, Denesha Morris, Francine Simpson, Lindsay Vollmer and Taylor Washington; and

WHEREAS, The team coaches include Head Coach Stanley Redwine, Elisha Brewer, Ryan Hays, Tom Hays, Andy Kokhanovsky, Wayne Pate, Rose Richmond and Michael Whittlesey; and

WHEREAS, Eleven of the 13 entries in the meet contributed to the team's scoring effort, including performances in long jump, triple jump, the 4X100 meter relay, the 200 meter, 4X400 meter relay, heptathlon, javelin, hammer throw, discus and pole vault: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the 2013 University of Kansas women's track and field team on winning the NCAA Team Championship. This amazing accomplishment is celebrated not only by the University of Kansas community but by the entire State of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 24 copies of this resolution to Senator Francisco.

Senate Resolution No. 1771 was sponsored by Senator Francisco.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.