## SENATE BILL No. 34

## By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

1-16

1 AN ACT concerning the commission on emergency planning and 2 response; membership; amending K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-5721 and 3 repealing the existing section.

4 5

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

24

25

26

27

34

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-5721 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-5721. (a) There is hereby established the commission on emergency planning and response.

- (b) The membership of the commission on emergency planning and response shall consist of the agency head or secretary or a designated person of authority from the following agencies:
  - (1) The fire marshal;
- (2) the department of health and environment division of public health:
  - (3) the department of health and environment division of environment
  - (4) the department of transportation;
- (4)(5) the Kansas highway patrol;
- (5) (6) the adjutant general;
  - (6) (7) the department of commerce:
- 20 (7) (8) the Kansas bureau of investigation; and
- 21 (8) (9) the Kansas department of agriculture; and
- 22 (9) the Kansas department of agriculture division of animal health. 23
  - In addition, the membership of the commission on emergency planning and response shall also consist of 18 members appointed by the governor as follows:
    - (1) One individual shall be representative of counties;
    - (2) one individual selected to represent cities;
- 28 (3) three individuals selected to represent businesses and industries. 29 one of which represents broadcasting; 30
  - (4) one individual selected to represent agriculture, crop or livestock;
- 31 (5) one individual selected to represent transportation, trucking or 32 rail;
- 33 (6) one individual selected to represent energy;
  - (7) one individual selected to represent law enforcement officers:
- 35 (8) one individual selected to represent fire fighters;
- (9) one individual selected to represent county emergency managers; 36

SB 34 2

- (10) one individual selected to represent emergency medical services;
  - (11) one individual selected to represent public works services;
  - (12) one individual selected to represent hospitals;
  - (13) one individual selected to represent public health;
  - (14) one individual selected to represent the tribes of Kansas;
- (15) one individual selected to represent individuals with disabilities; and
- (16) one individual selected to represent the seven regional homeland security councils.
- (d) A designee of the adjutant general shall serve as the secretary of the commission on emergency planning and response. The adjutant general shall provide staff support for the commission on emergency planning and response.
- (e) Of the members first appointed to the commission on emergency planning and response by the governor, one representative of cities, one representative of counties and one representative of business and industry shall serve a term of two years, and the remainder of the members appointed by the governor shall serve terms of three years. Thereafter, members appointed pursuant to subsection (c) shall serve terms of four years and until the successor has been appointed. Any vacancy in the office of an appointed member shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the governor.
- (f) A chairperson shall be elected annually by the members of the commission. A vice-chairperson shall be designated by the chairperson to serve in the absence of the chairperson. The members serving as chairperson and vice-chairperson on July 1, 2013, shall serve in such positions until a date which is two years after the date the chairperson was elected. At such time, the vice-chairperson shall become chairperson and a new vice-chairperson, having been elected by the members of the commission, shall be seated. The chairperson and the vice-chairperson shall serve in such capacity for a period of two years, and at the conclusion of each two year period thereafter, the vice-chairperson shall become chairperson and a new vice-chairperson, having been elected by the members of the commission, shall be seated. The vice-chairperson shall serve in the absence of the chairperson.
- (g) For attending meetings of such commission, or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such commission, those members of the commission appointed by the governor shall be paid compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto.
  - Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 65-5721 is hereby repealed.
- Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book.

SB 34 3

1