SENATE RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A SENATE RESOLUTION congratulating the Western Boone High School football team on winning the 2020 Indiana High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class 2A state championship.

BUCHANAN, BOOTS

, read first time and referred to Committee on



Introduced

First Regular Session 122nd General Assembly (2021)

SENATE RESOLUTION

MADAM PRESIDENT:

I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

A SENATE RESOLUTION congratulating the Western
Boone High School football team on winning the 2020 Indiana
High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class 2A state
championship.

5 Whereas, The Western Boone High School football team 6 are the 2020 IHSAA Class 2A champions after defeating Fort 7 Wayne Bishop Luers;

8 Whereas, The team consists of Trevor Weakley, Cannon Brunes, Ryan Taylor, Clayton Hysong, Luke Jackson, Blake 9 Miller, Luke Marsh, Dominic Mickschl, Reece Durbin. Mitch 10 Miller, John Harlos, Rowen Durbin, Josiah Smith, Jake 11 Johnson, Elliott Young, Ethan Bayles, Logan Miller, Casey 12 Baird, Evan Trent, Klyde McKeighan, Carter Marcum, Philip 13 Talbott, Cole Wiley, Jackson Grimes, Dylan Small, Robby 14 Taylor, Jake Taylor, Mason Tomes, Zayne Sturgis, Korbin 15 Smith, Evan Crowley, Emmy Roys, Gavin Prickett, Korden 16 Bush, Jaxson Gott, Andrew Coppock, Andrew Foster, Will 17 Barta, Tyler Koch, Tyler Latham, Perrin Emberton, Emily 18 Hamm, Clayton Unroe, Dane Williamson, Zach Hammon, 19 Thomas Valley, Luke Barta, Brian Sheets, Garrett Morton, Eli 20 McClaine, Chase Richwine, Drew Gott, Austin Bowman, 21





2021

RR 3553/DI NM

1	Connor Garrity, Keith Hawkins, and Jake Hendricks;
2	Whereas, To earn their spot at the championship game, the
3	Western Boone Stars beat the Seeger Patriots in the sectional
4	championship, the Heritage Christian Eagles in the regional
5	championship, and then decisively defeated the Evansville
6	Mater Dei Wildcats in the semi-state championship;
7	Whereas, Fighting for the state title, the Western Boone Stars
8	faced off against the Bishop Luers Knights at Lucas Oil
9	Stadium in Indianapolis;
10	Whereas, After trailing behind the Knights by a touchdown
11	in the first half, the Stars made a bold ten-point rally in the
12	game's final two minutes;
13	Whereas, With seven seconds left in the game, Stars kicker
14	Josiah Smith made a 38-yard field goal attempt to win the state
15	title for Western Boone High School with a final score of 36-35;
16	Whereas, Following the game, senior Luke Marsh received
17	the Blake Ress Mental Attitude Award from the members of the
18	IHSAA Executive Committee in recognition of his excellent
19	mental attitude, scholarship, leadership, and athletic ability;
20	Whereas, The Stars, led by coach Justin Pelley, assistant
21	coaches Travis Brunes, Matthan Gadbury, Ryan Baird, Nate
22	Birk, Tom Garrity, Denny Pelley, Kaleb McCloskey, Nathanial
23	Bye, Devin Weekley, and student managers Dillon Gillihan,
24	Owen Kiplinger, Kaley Hawkins, Luci Nicley, and Mya Fisher,
25	finished the season with a 11-4 record, and its third-straight
26	state title; and
27	Whereas, The Stars' skill, grit, and hard work were key to
28	the team's success in continuing its state title reign: Therefore,
29	Be it resolved by the Senate of the
30	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

RR 3553/DI NM



SECTION 1. That the Indiana Senate congratulates the
Western Boone High School football team on winning the 2020

- 3 IHSAA Class 2A state championship.
- 4 SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed
- 5 to transmit copies of this Resolution to each member of the
- 6 Western Boone High School football team.



RR 3553/DI NM