



Second Regular Session 118th General Assembly (2014)

SENATE RESOLUTION

MADAM PRESIDENT:

I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

1	A SENATE RESOLUTION congratulating the Brown
2	County Junior High School "We the People: The Citizen and
3	the Constitution" teams.
4	Whereas, The "We the People: The Citizens and the
5	Constitution" program was developed by the Center for Civic
6	Education and is funded by the U.S. Department of Education,
7	pursuant to an act of Congress, with a goal of promoting civic
8	responsibility and competence in students;
9	Whereas, Fifty state coordinators and a coordinator in
10	each of the 435 congressional districts, the District of
11	Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the
12	Virgin Islands administer the program;
13	Whereas, Students in grades 4 through 12 participate in the
14	program;
15	Whereas, In addition to their regular school curriculum,
16	the students are given a course on the history and principles of
17	democracy in the United States, with a test being administered
18	at the conclusion of the lessons;



2014 RR 3536/DI ji

1	Whereas, Elementary and middle school hearings are not
2	competitive; high school students and their teachers may select
3	the noncompetitive hearing or the annual competition;
4	Whereas, Each competing class is divided into six teams,
5	one team for each of the six units in the high school textbook;
6	Whereas, Judges score each team, using criteria that
7	include understanding, constitutional application, reasoning,
8	use of supporting evidence, responsiveness, and participation;
9	Whereas, Previously, a state title was the highest
10	achievement at the middle school level; however, 2013 marked
11	the inaugural We the People Middle School National Finals
12	held on the campus of George Mason University in Fairfax,
13	Virginia;
14	Whereas, On May 6, 2013, the 2012-2013 Brown County
15	Junior High School Team won the National Invitational
16	competition;
17	Whereas, The National Invitational takes the form of
18	simulated congressional hearings, during which groups of
19	students testify as constitutional experts before panels of judges
20	acting as congressional committees, scoring the groups through
21	a performance-based assessment;
22	Whereas, Each hearing begins with a four minute opening
23	statement by students, and is followed by a six minute period of
24	follow-up questioning, during which judges examine students'
25	knowledge, understanding, and ability to apply constitutional
26	principles;
27	Whereas, On December 17 at the Crowne Plaza Union
28	Station in Indianapolis, Brown County Junior High School
29	defeated 11 other schools from around the state to secure the
30	title of State Champions for the fourth consecutive year in the
31	"We the People" competition;



Whereas, On April 4 through 8, 2014, the team will represent its community and state in the second annual "We the People" Middle School National Invitational at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia; and

Whereas, Involvement with the "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" competition allows students to develop a greater understanding of democratic principles, and prepare Indiana youth for a future that will encourage their knowledge of and participation in our democratic system of government: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana Senate congratulates the Brown County Junior High School "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" teams and wishes the team members continued success in all their future endeavors.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to transmit copies of this Resolution to 2012-2013 team members Victoria Nicole Akles, Will Remington Austin, Sarah E. Barrick, Andrew Kenneth Burker, Joshua Matthew Cochran, Cameron Alexander Flesher, Michael David Hess, Elisabeth Meta Huls, Elizabeth Mae Jenson, Victoria Jane Kelp, Sean Nicholas Lopes, Baylee Jacob Mosier, Cash William Myers, Monica Shea Percifield, Wylie Izora Poling, Bailee C. Robison, James Noah Seidle, Abigail Rose Shaffer, Ryanne Danielle Smith, Molly Jo Snyder, August Spiegel, Eleanor Elly Grace Wertz, and 2013-2014 team members Autumn Anna-Neanine Bryant, Lauren Mari Burker, Corinna Rae Cagle, Jordan Allen Dolph, Allison Morgan Drew, Story Lee-An Ellis, Adriana Jade Fonseca, Solei Charizma Garland, Kaiden Matthew Hinds, Emma Renee Hoskins, Grace Ann Jackson, Alivia Louise Johnson, Grace Nocle Lee, Kathleen Rose McCann, Hallee Briell Miller, Elizabeth May Moore, Abraham James Oliver, Faith Nicole Parry, Lane Scott Rice, Taylor Makaya Jade Roberts, Wesley William Ryan, Ezra James Scully, Kaitlyn Michele Spires, Leah Marie Tucker, Benjamin Tyler Wildman, and coach Michael Potts.

5

6

7 8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15 16

17

18

19

20

21

2223

2425

2627

28

29 30

3132

3334

35

2014 RR 3536/DI ji