DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring WaTasha Barnes-Griffin, Terry Whitt Bailey, Sylvia Bogle, Joyce and Edward Foggs, Vivian Conley, and others for their many contributions to Madison County, Delaware County, and the state during Black History Month 2018. LANANE

, read first time and referred to Committee on



2018 DR 3839/DI AM

SENATE RESOLUTION

MADAM PRESIDENT:

I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

1	A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring WaTasha Barnes-
2	Griffin, Terry Whitt Bailey, Sylvia Bogle, Joyce and Edward
3	Foggs, Vivian Conley, and others for their many contributions
4	to Madison County, Delaware County, and the state during
5	Black History Month 2018.

Whereas, WaTasha Barnes-Griffin was born and raised in Muncie, Indiana. From an early age she had a passion for helping others, a characteristic she credits to her mother and grandmother, two very strong women in her life. At age 42, WaTasha is the director of the YWCA of Muncie and president of the Muncie Chapter of Indiana Black Expo. WaTasha is committed to empowering women and eliminating racism in her community, living her life by the "Golden Rule";

Whereas, Terry Whitt Bailey began life in Springfield, Illinois and moved to Indianapolis at age 15. Her education includes an undergraduate degree from Rutgers University, a master's degree from UCLA, and a Doctor of Ministry degree from Newburgh Theological Seminary. Terry has had an astounding career, serving as president and CEO of Muncie's Cornerstone Center for the Arts, administrator and professor at Ball State University, and president and CEO at the Madame

2018 DR 3839/DI AM



Walker Theater Center in Indianapolis. In her current position,
Terry serves as the Community Development Director for the
city of Muncie and is one of the most high-profile department
heads in Mayor Dennis Tyler's administration. Terry strives to
"be a blessing" to her community and serves as a role model for
young men and women of color who, like she did, face setbacks
at times;

Whereas, Sylvia Bogle has dedicated her career to providing Hoosier women who are victims of abuse with a safe place and advocating for laws to protect them. Sylvia was the 1st executive director of Women's Alternative, now known as Alternatives Inc., which is a domestic violence shelter in Madison County. She is also a co-founder of the Indiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence (ICADV), whose campaign is to raise awareness about domestic violence. Sylvia was directly responsible for the passage of several pieces of vital legislation in the early 1980s. Beginning in 1987, Sylvia became the director of ICADV and now works at Ivy Tech Community College as a financial aid director;

Whereas, In 2011, Joyce and Edward Foggs were awarded the Heritage Award by the Anderson University Heritage Club. This honor is awarded to members of the Heritage Club who have helped advance Anderson University. Edward Foggs served as the pastor of the Sherman Street Church of God and previously worked as an adjunct professor at Anderson University. Joyce Foggs was an elementary school teacher and administrator in the Anderson Community School Corporation for nearly 35 years, eventually lending her talents to young teaching students at Anderson University;

Whereas, Vivian Conley was an activist for civil rights and education in Muncie. She was education coordinator for Trinity United Methodist Church for 20 years and the founder of the Nontraditional Student Association at Ball State University. She was also involved in the campaigns to desegregate Tuhey Pool during the 1950s and to end the use of the Confederate flag

2018 DR 3839/DI AM



1	symbols at Southside High School during the 1970s. Muncie's
2	Conley Library on Centennial Avenue is named for her;
3	Whereas, The following notable African American
4	contributors are also trailblazers who paved the way for
5	others;
6	Whereas, Jesse Nixon was the first African American to
7	graduate from Ball State Teachers College in 1925;
8	Whereas, Rhonda Roberts was the first African American
9	to serve on the Muncie City Council;
0	Whereas, Hurley Goodall was one of the first two African
1	Americans in the Muncie Fire Department and was elected as
2	the first African American member of the Muncie School Board
3	in 1970;
4	Whereas, In 1960, Anderson High School and Anderson
5	College athlete, Nat Johnson, became Anderson High School's
6	first African American head coach;
7	Whereas, In 1961, Barbara Hilliard of Muncie became the
8	first female mail carrier - black or white - in Indiana;
9	Whereas, Zebedee Christian became the first black member
20 21	of the Anderson Schools' Board of Trustees in 1968;
22	Whereas, Houston Broadnax became the first African
23	American captain in the Anderson Police Department, and
24	Amos Cooley became the city's first African American
25	firefighter; and
26	Whereas, In 1971, Zora Fenner became Anderson's first
27	African American principal: Therefore,
28	Be it resolved by the Senate of the
29	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

DR 3839/DI AM



1	SECTION 1. That the Indiana Senate honors the contributions of
2	these individuals on the occasion of Black History Month.
3	SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to
1	submit copies of this resolution to the families of WaTasha Barnes-
5	Griffin, Terry Whitt Bailey, and Sylvia Bogle, Joyce and Edward
6	Foggs, Vivian Conley, the Madison County Historical Society, and the
7	Archives and Special Collections of the Ball State Bracken Library.



2018 DR 3839/DI AM