SENATE RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A SENATE RESOLUTION urging the Indiana Congressional Delegation to support H.R. 356, the Protecting Our Democracy Act, which creates a bipartisan-appointed commission to investigate foreign interference in the 2016 election.

LANANE, BREAUX, MELTON, MRVAN, NIEZGODSKI, RANDOLPH, STOOPS, TALLIAN, TAYLOR G

 , read first time and referred to Committee on



2017 DR 3812/DI js

First Regular Session 120th General Assembly (2017)

SENATE RESOLUTION

MADAM PRESIDENT:

I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

1	A SENATE RESOLUTION urging the Indiana
2	Congressional Delegation to support H.R. 356, the Protecting
3	Our Democracy Act, which creates a bipartisan-appointed
4	commission to investigate foreign interference in the 2016
5	election.
6	Whereas, There is a broad consensus in the intelligence
7	community that the Russian government interfered in the 2016
8	U.S. election;
9	Whereas, Further investigation is needed to determine the
10	extent of this interference and how it can be prevented in the
11	future;
12	Whereas, The Protecting Our Democracy Act creates a 12-
13	member, bipartisan, independent commission empowered to
14	interview witnesses, obtain documents, issue subpoenas, and
15	receive testimony to examine attempts by the Russian
16	government or others to use electronic means to influence,
17	interfere with, or undermine trust in last year's U.S. election;
18	Whereas, The Protecting Our Democracy Act has
19	bipartisan support from members of Congress; and



2017 DR 3812/DI js

1	Whereas, The Indiana General Assembly recognizes the
2	importance of ensuring the integrity of our elections: Therefore,
3	Be it resolved by the Senate of the
4	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:
•	Series we reserve by the source of rimination
5	SECTION 1. That the Indiana Senate urges the Indiana
6	Congressional Delegation to support H.R. 356, the Protecting Our
7	Democracy Act.
8	SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to
9	transmit a copy of this resolution to Representative Pete Visclosky,
10	Representative Jackie Walorski, Representative Jim Banks,
11	Representative Todd Rokita, Representative Susan Brooks,
12	Representative Luke Messer, Representative André Carson,
13	Representative Larry Bucshon, and Representative Trey Hollingsworth.



2017 DR 3812/DI js