## DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring the Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission for their work on the 2021 redistricting process. QADDOURA \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, read first time and referred to Committee on



2022 DR 3833/DI KP

## SENATE RESOLUTION \_\_\_\_

## MADAM PRESIDENT:

I offer the following resolution and move its adoption:

1	A SENATE RESOLUTION honoring the Indiana Citizens
2	Redistricting Commission for their work on the 2021
3	redistricting process.
4	Whereas, The Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission
5	is a politically balanced commission created to model a fair
6	redistricting process;
7	Whereas, The Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission
8	emphasized constituent voices and held virtual public meetings
9	in 2021, taking testimony on redistricting criteria and the map-
10	drawing process;
11	Whereas, Members of the Indiana Citizens Redistricting
12	Commission were vetted through numerous criteria to ensure
13	the integrity of the Commission;
14	Whereas, The Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission
15	was comprised of three members who identify as Republican,
16	three members who identify as Democrat, three members who
17	identify as independent, and two alternates;
18	Whereas, The members of the Indiana Citizens
19	Redistricting Commission were Sonia Leerkamp of Nineveh



2022 DR 3833/DI KP

1	Charles Taylor of Muncie, Christopher Harris of Hammond,
2	Ranjan Rohatgi of South Bend, Missie Summers-Kempf of
3	Portage, Xavier Ramirez of Bloomington, Marilyn Moran-
4	Townsend of Fort Wayne, Clara Glaspie of Indianapolis, Leigh
5	Morris of LaPorte, Tom Hayhurst of Fort Wayne, and Jack
6	Tharpe of Noblesville; and
7	Whereas, The work of the Indiana Citizens Redistricting
8	Commission proves their commitment to fair and equal voting
9	districts for the people of Indiana: Therefore,
10	Be it resolved by the Senate of the
11	General Assembly of the State of Indiana:
12	SECTION 1. That the Indiana State Senate honors the
13	Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission for their work on
14	the 2021 redistricting process.
15	SECTION 2. That the Secretary of the Senate is hereby
16	directed to transmit copies of this Resolution to the members
17	of the Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission.

