## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. \_\_\_\_

## DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team on its 2017 Indiana High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class A state championship title.

MESSMER
, read first time and referred to Committee on



2017 RC 1548/DI HE

First Regular Session 120th General Assembly (2017)

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. \_\_\_\_

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Wood Memorial
2	High School girls basketball team on its 2017 Indiana High School
3	Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class A state championship title.
4	Whereas, On Saturday, February 25, 2017, the Wood
5	Memorial High School girls basketball team won the Indiana
6	High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class A state
7	championship title, defeating the Union City Indians, 68 to
8	43;
9	Whereas, The Wood Memorial High School girls
10	basketball team finished the season with an impressive
11	record of 29-1 overall, and 8-0 within its conference;
12	Whereas, This was Wood Memorial's second appearance
13	in the girls basketball state finals, after finishing runner-up
14	to Oregon-Davis High School in 2007;
15	Whereas, This is Wood Memorial High School's first
16	state championship title in school history in any sport;
17	Whereas, Brenna Maikranz led the Trojans with 26
18	points, Carsen Robinson scored 16 points, Sydney Day
19	scored 10 points, Lexi Lashbrook had 7 points and 12
20	rebounds, and Chloe Barley finished with 8 points, 10
21	rebounds, and 6 assists;



2017 RC 1548/DI HE

1	Whereas, Senior Brenna Maikranz received the 2017
2	Patricia L. Roy Mental Attitude Award after her team won
3	the State Finals;

4 Whereas, The Wood Memorial High School girls 5 basketball team is coached by Johnnie Bartley;

Whereas, The young women of the Wood Memorial High School basketball team are student-athletes who balanced countless hours of basketball practice on top of a full academic course load; and

Whereas, The Indiana General Assembly commends the young women of the Wood Memorial High School basketball team for their commitment to both academics and athletics, and congratulates them on their successful season and state championship title: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team on its 2017 IHSAA Class A state championship title.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to Kevin Smith, Principal of Wood Memorial High School, Steve Kilian, Athletic Director of Wood Memorial High School, Johnnie Bartley, Head Coach of the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team, Whitney Powers, Assistant Coach of the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team, Joe Robinson, Assistant Coach of the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team, Kylie Hicks, Bailee Speicher, Carsen Robinson, Jenna McGowan, Sydney Lamar, Morgan Loveless, Ashlyn Morgan, Lexi Lashbrook, Kennedy Wilkerson, Sydney Day, Chloe Bartley, Katie Thacker, Chloe Mower, Ashton Stone, Kennedy Blacklock, Brenna Maikranz, Gretchen Reel, Makayla Stocker, and each manager of the Wood Memorial High School girls basketball team.

2017 RC 1548/DI HE





2017 RC 1548/DI HE