SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating Morgan Township Elementary School for winning a National Blue Ribbon Award.

CHARBONNEAU

_____, read first time and referred to Committee on



2014 RC 1513/DI lb

Second Regular Session 118th General Assembly (2014)

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating Morgan
2	Township Elementary School for winning a National Blue
3	Ribbon Award.
4	Whereas, In 2013, the United States Secretary of Education
5	Arne Duncan awarded Morgan Township Elementary School,
6	of the East Porter County School Corporation, a National Blue
7	Ribbon, with only 285 other schools across the entire country
8	receiving the award last year as well;
9	Whereas, The National Blue Ribbon School Program was
0	founded to recognize public and private elementary, middle,
1	and high schools where students perform at very high levels or
2	where significant improvements are being made in students'
3	academic achievement;
4	Whereas, Morgan Township Elementary School was
5	bestowed this mark of excellence for the school and students'
6	exemplary performance, which is measured by national and
7	state assessments;
8	Whereas, Morgan Township was also recognized with this
9	honor for Principal Michelle Friesen-Carper's efforts to
20	provide an atmosphere that encourages each student to work to
21	his or her potential, for the teachers' efforts to work
22	collaboratively to ensure each student succeeds, and for the
23	parents' efforts to provide a solid foundation for their

2014 RC 1513/DI lb

1	children's futures; and
2	Whereas, This merit-based distinction is a testament to
3	Morgan Township Elementary School's overall dedication, its
4	academic success, and its history of achievement: Therefore,
5	Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly
6	of the State of Indiana, the House of Representatives concurring:
7	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates
8	Morgan Township Elementary School for winning a National Blue
9	Ribbon Award.
10	SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed to
11	transmit copies of this Resolution to Morgan Township Elementary
12	School, Principal Michelle Friesen-Carper, and the Superintendent of
13	the Fast Porter County School Corporation, Dr. Rod Gardin



