SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger High School football team on winning the 2018 Indiana High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA") Class 4A state championship title.

BROWN L
, read first time and referred to Committee on



2019 RC 1518/DI AZ

First Regular Session 121st General Assembly (2019)

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Fort
2	Wayne Bishop Dwenger High School football team on winning
3	the 2018 Indiana High School Athletic Association ("IHSAA")
4	Class 4A state championship title.
5	Whereas, After a four-overtime thriller, the Fort Wayne
6	Bishop Dwenger High School football team defeated Evansville
7	Central 16-10 to win the 2018 IHSAA Class 4A state
8	championship title;
9	Whereas, In advancing to the state championship game, the
10	Saints defeated Logansport, Leo, and Wayne to win the
11	sectional championship, Angola to win the regional
12	championship, and Mishawaka to win the semi-state
13	championship;
14	Whereas, In a battle of each team's defense, the
15	championship game's end of regulation resulted in a scoreless
16	tie after a last-second field goal attempt by Evansville Central
17	was blocked by the Saints;
18	Whereas, The first overtime continued the tie game, and in
19	the second overtime both Bishop Dwenger and Evansville
20	Central scored a field goal, tying the game at 3-3 at the end of
21	the second overtime;
22	Whereas, In the third overtime, the Saints scored first to put
23	Bishop Dwenger up 10-3, but Evansville Central answered with
24	a touchdown to end the third overtime in a 10-10 tie;



2019

1	Whereas, After Bishop Dwenger senior Charlie Howe
2	intercepted an Evansville Central pass in the fourth overtime,
3	senior T.J. Tippmann scored on a 9-yard run to win the game
4	16-10 and earn the Saints the Class 4A state title;
5	Whereas, After the championship thrilller, senior T.J.
6	McGarry was named the winner of the Phil N. Eskew Mental
7	Attitude Award for Class 4A football; and
8	Whereas, Led by captains Joe Tippmann, T.J. McGarry,
9	T.J. Tippmann, and Sam Obergfell, the Saints finished the 2018
10	season with a 14-1 record to earn Bishop Dwenger's fifth state
11	championship title in football: Therefore,
12	Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly
13	of the State of Indiana, the House of Representatives
14	concurring:
15	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly
16	congratulates the Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger football team on
17	winning the 2018 IHSAA Class 4A state championship title.
18	SECTION 2. The Secretary of the Senate is hereby directed
19	to transmit copies of this Resolution to each member of the Fort
20	Wayne Bishop Dwenger High School football team.



