

HOUSE RESOLUTION No.

Introduced by:	Mayfield,	Pierce

A HOUSE RESOLUTION recognizing the 2013 Indiana University baseball team.

Whereas, The 2013 Indiana University baseball team was a team of firsts;

Whereas, The team was the first to advance to the College World Series in the school's history and the first Big Ten school to do so in 29 years (Michigan 1985);

Whereas, The Hoosiers hosted, and won, an NCAA Regional for the first time in the school's history, doing so in the opening season of Bart Kaufman Field;

Whereas, This outstanding team set a new Indiana

20142525



University record with 49 wins over Division I opponents, finishing the season with an overall record of 49 - 16;

Whereas, Aaron Slegers was named the Big Ten Pitcher of the Year and was drafted in the fifth round of the Major League Baseball draft by the Minnesota Twins;

Whereas, Head coach Tracy Smith was named the National Coach of the Year by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) and collegebaseballinsider.com;

Whereas, Bart Kaufman Field hosted an average attendance of over 1,700 fans per game, ranking in the top 40 nationally; and

Whereas, Outstanding athletic accomplishments such as this deserve special recognition: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives congratulates the 2013 Indiana University baseball team and wishes the team members continued success in all their future endeavors.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit copies of this resolution to team members Nick Ramos, Scott Donley, Chris Sujka, Sam Travis, Michael Basil, Evan Bell, Kyle Schwarber, Will Nolden, Kyle Hart, Dustin DeMuth, Trace Knoblauch, Casey Smith, Christian Morris, Justin Cureton, Joey DeNato, Walker Stadler, Brian Korte, Luke Harrison, Chad Clark, Aaron Slegers, Ryan Halstead, Will Coursen-Carr, Tim O'Conner, Scott Effross, Ricky Alfonso, Brian Wilhite, John Roberston, head coach Tracy Smith, assistant coaches Ty Neal and Ben Greenspan, and

volunteer coach Roger Rodeheaver.

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12 13

20142525

