HOUSE RESOLUTION No. ____

Introduced by: Koch

A HOUSE RESOLUTION congratulating the Brown County Junior High School "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" teams.

Whereas, The "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" program was developed by the Center for Civic Education and is funded by the U.S. Department of Education, pursuant to an act of Congress, with a goal of promoting civic responsibility and competence in students;

Whereas, Fifty state coordinators and a coordinator in each of the 435 congressional districts, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands administer the program;

Whereas, Students in grades 4 through 12 participate in the program;

Whereas, In addition to their regular school curriculum,

20142447



the students are given a course on the history and principles of democracy in the United States, with a test being administered at the conclusion of the lessons;

Whereas, Elementary and middle school hearings are not competitive; high school students and their teachers may select the noncompetitive hearing or the annual competition;

Whereas, Each competing class is divided into six teams, one team for each of the six units in the high school textbook;

Whereas, Judges score each team, using criteria that include understanding, constitutional application, reasoning, use of supporting evidence, responsiveness, and participation;

Whereas, Previously, a state title was the highest achievement at the middle school level; however, 2013 marked the inaugural We the People Middle School National Finals held at George Mason University in Washington, D.C.;

Whereas, On May 6, 2013, the 2012-2013 Brown County Junior High School team won the National Invitational competition;

Whereas, The National Invitational takes the form of simulated congressional hearings during which groups of students testify as constitutional experts before panels of judges acting as congressional committees scoring the groups through a performance-based assessment;

Whereas, Each hearing begins with a four minute opening statement by students and is followed by a six minute period of follow-up questioning during which judges examine students' knowledge, understanding, and ability to apply constitutional principles;

Whereas, On December 17, 2013, at the Crowne Plaza Union Station in Indianapolis, the 2013-2014 Brown County Junior High School team defeated 11 other schools from around the state to secure the title of State Champions for the fourth consecutive year in the "We the People" competition;

20142447

Whereas, On April 4 through 8, 2014, the team will represent its community and state in the second annual "We the People" Middle School National Invitational at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia; and

Whereas, Involvement with the "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" competition allows students to develop a greater understanding of democratic principles and prepares Indiana youth for a future that will encourage their knowledge of and participation in our democratic system of government: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives
congratulates the Brown County Junior High School "We the People:
The Citizen and the Constitution" team and wishes the team members
continued success in all their future endeavors.

5 SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of 6 Representatives transmit copies of this resolution to 2012-2013 team 7 members Victoria Nicole Akles, Will Remington Austin, Sarah E. 8 Barrick, Andrew Kenneth Burker, Joshua Matthew Cochran, Cameron 9 Alexander Flesher, Michael David Hess, Elisabeth Meta Huls, 10 Elizabeth Mae Jenson, Victoria Jane Kelp, Sean Nicholas Lopes, Baylee Jacob Mosier, Cash William Myers, Monica Shea Percifield, 11 Wylie Izora Poling, Bailee C. Robison, James Noah Seidle, Abigail 12 Rose Shaffer, Ryanne Danielle Smith, Molly Jo Snyder, August 13 14 Spiegel, and Eleanor Elly Grace Wertz, 2013-2014 team members 15 Autumn Anna-Neanine Bryant, Lauren Mari Burker, Corinna Rae Cagle, Jordan Allen Dolph, Allison Morgan Drew, Story Lee-An Ellis, 16 17 Adriana Jade Fonseca, Solei Charizma Garland, Kaiden Matthew 18 Hinds, Emma Renee Hoskins, Grace Ann Jackson, Alivia Louise 19 Johnson, Grace Nicole Lee, Kathleen Rose McCann, Hallee Briell 20 Miller, Elizabeth May Moore, Abraham James Oliver, Faith Nicole 21 Parry, Lane Scott Rice, Taylor Makaya Jade Roberts, Wesley William 22 Ryan, Ezra James Scully, Kaitlyn Michele Spires, Leah Marie Tucker, 23 Benjamin Tyler Wildman, and coach Michael Potts.

