

Introduced Version

HOUSE RESOLUTION No.

Introduced by: Thompson

A HOUSE RESOLUTION urging the Legislative Council to assign to the appropriate study committee the topic of which time zone our state capital and, therefore, the majority of our citizens should observe.

Whereas, Senate Bill 127-2005 passed with the understanding that hearings would be held regarding the boundary between the Central and Eastern time zones in Indiana;

Whereas, Hearings were never held to appropriately assess the location of the line between the Central and Eastern time zones that would best serve Indiana;

Whereas, The time zone that should be observed in most

20152746



Indiana counties has been a continuing issue of controversy;

2

Whereas, Indiana is currently split into two time zones - the Central Time Zone and the Eastern Time Zone;

Whereas, Most of Indiana's 92 counties are in the Eastern Time Zone; however, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter, Starke, Gibson, Perry, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Warrick counties are in the Central Time Zone, which has about 20% of Indiana's population;

Whereas, The placement of our state capital in the Central Time Zone would likely result in Clark, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, and Ohio counties remaining in the Eastern Time Zone which has about 5% of Indiana's population; and

Whereas, The issues of commerce, education achievement, and student safety are some of the issues related to time zone placement: Therefore,

> Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives urges the
Legislative Council to assign to the appropriate study committee the
topic of which time zone our state capital and, therefore, the majority
of our citizens should observe.



