

## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. \_\_\_

Introduced by: Austin

1 A HOUSE RESOLUTION recognizing Indiana 4-H and all 2 of 4-H's work to advance positive youth development in the 3 state.

Whereas, Indiana 4-H was established in 1904 in Hamilton County by John F. Haines, a school superintendent, to develop young boys and girls in the state;

7

8

10

Whereas, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of Indiana;

Whereas, The Purdue University Extension organization offers 4-H educational programming in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, healthy living, and civic engagement to over 130,000 youth each year in partnership with all 92

20222519



*Indiana counties and thousands of 4-H volunteers;* 

2 Whereas, Kylie Bedel of Vanderburgh County, Conor

- 3 Casteel of Porter County, Bre Davis of Owen County, Caroline
- 4 Donaldson of Lake County, Nora Howat of Lawrence County,
- 5 Saniia Hunt of Marion County, Lane King of Harrison County,
- 6 Caleb Lechlitner of Kosciusko County, and Hannah Wallpe of
- 7 Benton County serve with distinction and dedication as the first
- 8 statewide 4-H ambassadors, representing the interests, beliefs,
- 9 and desires of all 4-H members in the state;
- 10 Whereas, Madelyn Zimmerman of Kosciusko County was
- selected as the winner of the 2021 National 4-H Youth in Action
- 12 Pillar Award for Agriculture;
- Whereas, Claire Bishop of Hancock County, Lilly Clark of
- 14 Warrick County, Ellie Henry of Hendricks County, Jacoba
- 15 Hensley of Franklin County, Kelly Hinton of Lake County,
- 16 Anika Kinnear of Fountain County, Lizzie Parrish of Jasper
- 17 County, Abigail Stallings of Warrick County, Audrey Stallings
- of Warrick County, and Jacie Whitmer of Clark County
- 19 represented their clubs, communities, and Indiana at the 100th
- 20 anniversary meeting of the National 4-H Congress in November
- 21 *of 2021;*
- 22 Whereas, The Churubusco 4-H Lifestock Judging Team
- 23 including Remi Earnhart, James Earnhart, Devyn Gaff, and
- 24 McKenna Sobasky was honored as the high overall team at the
- 25 2022 National Western Stock Show 4-H Livestock Judging
- 26 Contest:
- 27 Whereas, Emmeline Seest of Clinton County, Kaitlyn
- 28 Whitaker of Porter County, Easton King of Warrick County,
- 29 and Camille Thopy of Shelby County will represent the State of
- 30 Indiana at the 2022 National 4-H Conference, where they will
- 31 identify community needs, develop a plan, and present possible
- 32 solutions to interested federal agencies; and
- Whereas, It is abundantly fitting and proper that the
- 34 outstanding accomplishments of these extraordinary
- *individuals be appropriately recognized: Therefore,*

20222519



| 1 | Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the |
|---|---|
| 2 | General Assembly of the State of Indiana:             |

SECTION 1. That the Indiana House of Representatives recognizes February 1, 2022, as 4-H Day at the Statehouse and commends the Purdue University Extension 4-H youth development program, as well as each of the nationally recognized and state recognized honorees for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership they have demonstrated.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit copies of this resolution to State Representative Terri Austin for distribution.

