

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. _____

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the North Vermillion High School football team.

Morrison, Kersey	
 , read first time and referred to Committee on	



HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the North Vermillion High School football team.

Whereas, The North Vermillion High School football team won the Indiana High School Athletic Association's Class 1A state football championship on November 29, 2014, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis;

Whereas, The game was a matchup between North Vermillion's tough defense and Pioneer's number one rated offense, with defense winning out;

Whereas, The Falcons defeated Pioneer High School by a score of 27 to 26 in their first championship appearance;

Whereas, This victory marks the first football state title for the Falcons and head coach Brian Crabtree;

Whereas, The Falcons, who were ranked second in an Associated Press poll, completed a perfect 15-0 season while defeating four consecutive top 10 teams on their way to the championship;

Whereas, Vaughn DePugh returned an interception for a 95-yard touchdown, setting a record for a scoring interception for all classes;

Whereas, North Vermilion took the lead with a 10-play, 64-yard drive with 2:49 remaining;



2015 HC 1051/DI 84

Whereas, Ahead by only one point in the final 2 minutes, Dakoda Chapman forced a fumble and Braeden Hollowell recovered it at midfield;

Whereas, Jacob Earl rushed for 108 yards on 21 attempts and caught three passes for 72 yards and two touchdowns while Cody Wright completed 12-of-24 passes for 162 yards and two touchdowns; and

Whereas, Outstanding accomplishments, whether on the athletic field or in the classroom, deserve special recognition: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly wishes to congratulate the North Vermillion High School football team on its Class 1A state football championship and to wish the team continued success in all its future endeavors.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to each member of the team; student managers Hannah Moudy, Emilee Farley, Gage Woodard, and Kaden Kilgore; assistant coaches Justin Fischer, Ben Blank, Dwight George, Seth Marshall, and Tom Cook; head coach Brian Crabtree; athletic director Martin Brown; principal Jayne Ann Virostko; and superintendent Michael F. Turner.

2015 HC 1051/DI 84



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11