

Introduced Version

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Signature School and the nine National Merit finalists.

Riecken, Bacon, McNamara, Washburne

_____, read first time and referred to Committee on

20142513



2014

Second Regular Session of the 118th General Assembly (2014)

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the Signature School and the nine National Merit Finalists.

Whereas, Evansville's Signature School was Indiana's first charter high school, founded in 2002;

Whereas, Organized through the Signature Learning Center, which later became the Signature School Foundation, Inc., the school is internationally based with emphasis on fine and performing arts, science, technology, mathematics, and the liberal arts;

Whereas, True to its mission statement to meet the needs of self-motivated learners in a progressive environment driven by global concerns, the Signature School had nine senior class members who were National Merit Finalists;

Whereas, They are Ahmad B. Allaw, Alex S. Brizius, Bowman C. Clark, Matthew A. Davis, Jay R. Erkilla, Alexandra B. Hitchcock, Derek M. Kuhnert, Drew R. Samuels, and Sachin Seetharamaiah;

Whereas, The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition in which students can earn scholarships and recognition for their accomplishments;

Whereas, Any high school student may enter the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and by meeting published program entry/participation requirements;



2014

HC 1064/DI 84

Whereas, The Signature School has received numerous awards and recognitions, including being ranked eighth in the nation and number one in the Midwest by the Washington Post, being ranked number seven by Newsweek Magazine, being named a Four Star Award school in 2010, and receiving the Head of the Class Best Buy Award from the Indiana Chamber of Commerce; and

Whereas, Academic accomplishments such as this deserve special recognition: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the
Signature School and the nine members of the Class of 2014 who were
named National Merit Finalists.
SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to National Merit
Finalists Ahmad B. Allaw, Alex S. Brizius, Bowman C. Clark,

7 Matthew A. Davis, Jay R. Erkilla, Alexandra B. Hitchcock, Derek M.

8 Kuhnert, Drew R. Samuels, and Sachin Seetharamaiah, and Jean

9 Hitchcock, Executive Director of the Signature School.

