Introduced Version

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the Fishers High School "We The People" team.

## Huston

\_\_\_\_\_, read first time and referred to Committee on



2018

Second Regular Session of the 120th General Assembly (2018)

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the 2 Fishers High School "We The People" team.

3 Whereas, On December 11, 2017, the 2017-2018 Fishers 4 High School team won the "We the People" state 5 championship;

6 Whereas, The Fishers High School team will represent its 7 community and state in the "We the People" National 8 Invitational in Virginia on April 27 through May 1, 2018;

9 Whereas, In addition to winning the state championship,
10 Fisher High School also took home unit awards for Units 1, 3,
11 4, and 5;

Whereas, This victory was the culmination of months of hard 12 work, dedication, and diligence on the part of the 27 students 13 in this year's "We the People" class, including Claire Arick, 14 Berrie Benjamin, Samuel Brunnemer, Kathryn Cooper, Riley 15 Crump, Lily Danielson, Sarah Dunlap, Lauren Ehrlich, William 16 Ernst, William Fleming, Gautam Fotedar, Kurt Hardy, David 17 Ho, Shaad Hussain, Rhiannon Johns, Brian Kang, Gillian 18 McCann, Ethan Odom, Grace Perry, Brooke Rance, Rachel 19 Reiter, Adam Rosenthall, Peyton Sanders, Brendan Scher, Ella 20 Schnefke, Ashley Sharpley, Olivia Strobel, as well as their 21 teachers and advisers, Liz Paternoster, Kelsey Ondish, Robert 22 B. Dyson Jr., Matt Follman, Dr. Chris Edwards, Judge Daniel 23 Henke, Geoff Tease, Taylor Schueth, Matt Bockenfeld, 24 Principal Jason Urban, and Superintendent Allen Bourff; 25

26

Whereas, More than 600 students and teams from 14 high



2018

schools from across Indiana participated in this year's state 1 2 championship; Whereas, During the competition, teams of students answered 3 4 questions from panels of judges about the Constitution and its application to contemporary issues; 5 Whereas, The "We the People" program was developed by the 6 Center for Civic Education and is funded by the United States 7 Department of Education under an act of Congress, with the 8 goal of promoting civic responsibility and competence in 9 students; and 10 Whereas, Involvement with the "We the People" competition 11 allows students to develop a greater understanding of 12 democratic principles and prepares Indiana youth for a future 13 that will encourage their knowledge of and participation in our 14 democratic system of government: Therefore, 15

16 *Be it resolved by the House of Representatives* of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, 17 the Senate concurring: 18

19 SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the Fishers High School "We The People" team 20 on its state championship and wishes the students continued 21 success at the National Invitational competition in Virginia. 22

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of 23 Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to team 24 members Claire Arick, Berrie Benjamin, Samuel Brunnemer, 25 Kathryn Cooper, Riley Crump, Lily Danielson, Sarah Dunlap, 26 Lauren Ehrlich, William Ernst, William Fleming, Gautam 27 Fotedar, Kurt Hardy, David Ho, Shaad Hussain, Rhiannon 28 Johns, Brian Kang, Gillian McCann, Ethan Odom, Grace Perry, 29 Brooke Rance, Rachel Reiter, Adam Rosenthall, Peyton 30 Sanders, Brendan Scher, Ella Schnefke, Ashley Sharpley, 31 Olivia Strobel; coach Liz Paternoster; teachers and advisers 32 Kelsey Ondish, Robert B. Dyson Jr., Matt Follman, Dr. Chris 33 Edwards, Judge Daniel Henke, Geoff Tease, Taylor Schueth, 34 Matt Bockenfeld; Principal Jason Urban; and Superintendent 35 Dr. Allen Bourff. 36



2

HC 1042/DI 84