Introduced Version

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION recognizing Dubois County on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of its founding.

Lindauer, Bartels

_____, read first time and referred to Committee on



20182395

Second Regular Session of the 120th General Assembly (2018)

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION recognizing Dubois 2 County on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of its 3 founding.

Whereas, Dubois County is comprised of 432 square miles
of territory and was originally populated by the Piankashaw
and Shawnee tribes who established several principal trails
that crossed the area;

8 Whereas, Prior to the American Revolution, Dubois County
9 was part of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but in 1787,
10 Congress established the Northwest Territory, which included
11 what is currently Indiana;

Whereas, The location of Dubois County helped its earlydevelopment;

Whereas, Dubois County was located on early Native
American trails, two rivers (White River and Patoka River), and
its location on the Buffalo Trace, which was a cleared path 10
to 20 feet wide formed by the annual trip of thousands of
buffalo from the plains of Illinois to the salt licks of Kentucky;

Whereas, Before Dubois County was formed, the area was
part of Knox County and then subdivided into Gibson and Pike
counties;

Whereas, In late 1817, the Indiana Legislature decided that
there were enough people and activity in the area to warrant a
separate county;



2018

1	Whereas, The county was named after Toussaint Dubois,
2	who was the first person to own property in present day Dubois
3	County; although the county was named after him, he never
4	resided in Dubois County;
5	Whereas, Portersville was the first seat of county
6	government in Dubois County with governmental proceedings
7	conducted at the residence at Fort McDonald; but by 1818
8	there was a log courthouse and log jail;
9	Whereas, In 1830, the state legislature moved the county seat
10	of government to Jasper, where a new courthouse and jail were
11	constructed;
12	Whereas, Today the county includes two cities, Jasper and
13	Huntingburg; three towns, Ferdinand, Holland, and Birdseye;
14	and several communities, some of the bigger ones being
15	Dubois, Haysville, Ireland, St. Anthony, and St. Henry; and
16	Whereas, It is fitting to remember the past and acknowledge
17	the importance of Dubois County to the future: Therefore,
18	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives
19	of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,
20	the Senate concurring:
20	the Senate concurring.
21	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly
22	congratulates Dubois County on the bicentennial of its
23	founding.
24	SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
25	Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to the Dubois
26	County Council, the Dubois County Commissioners, and the
27	Dubois County Visitors Center and Tourism Commission.

